RSS Feed

Houston HOME Sign and New August

Houston HOME Sign and New August

Summers slip by faster and faster and, to be honest “Back to School” ads still make my stomach kind of do flip-flops.

So I hate to rush it by saying this because, technically, it isn’t August yet but I’ve decided August will be my month of NEW.  New designs, new ideas, new approaches, (re)new(ed) vows to keep the garage organized….and blog less…….randomly.

(Oh, and I also realized I totally missed my two-year blogging anniversary which was in June! So YAY to two years of desperately trying to come up with something relevant to say!)

So, back to newness.

First up a new HOME sign for the great city of Houston

(clicking on the picture will take you to the listing in my Etsy shop)Solid Wood Letters Houston HOME sign

I’ve had the graphics for this for a while but hadn’t quite managed to actually produce a sign yet.

I still haven’t quite figured out how to photograph these things yet.

White background.Houston Wood HOME Sign E Green background. Houston HOME signUp close.Houston HOME Sign Letter with Map

Far Away.Solid Wood Letters Houston HOME signNone of them every seem to quite look like how I imagine the photos should look.  Ah well…. new challenge!  learn to use your camera better!

Are you working on new stuff for August?

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. Congratulations on the two-year bloggerversary!

    The Houston HOME sign is fabu! Do people still say fabu? I’ll just say it’s fabulous.

    Reply
  2. You are too clever! What a great idea…says this Houston girl:)

    Reply
  3. Hey I posted this on my new category Fun Things!
    Wow! I love visiting there whenever my friend happens to live there…I just wondered how you picked Houston when you’re a CA child?!
    But then I like it and today in my tiny home I have no place for it but wouldn’t that be a convo starter in my home?!! Considering I was born in another state, then grew up in CA and have only visited Houston maybe four or five times!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for pinning! I must confess that I “picked” it because someone requested it. Once I got beyond New York, Columbus and LA for HOME signs I ran out of cities that I’d lived in. I’ve never actually been to Houston but it’s on the list!

      Reply
  4. Hi David! The Houston sign is very nice. I like the far-away photo of the whole word with the green background. And congratulations on your 2-year anniversary of FREEDOM! Your blog is so fun to read, with gorgeous photos, helpful techniques, and cool ideas from your lovely sisters. You have a gift! 🙂 Good luck on your new resolutions!! Jenni

    Reply
  5. Great looking sign!
    I am working on several things(15 pieces), all for one client and due for the beginning of September. Earlier this month we combined two tiny rooms to make a studio (10 X 19) for me in the house, With a long weekend coming up Husband and I are building shelving units to house all the oddities that one collects while doing what we do. I left the corprate world three years ago and I have never regretted it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

