RSS Feed

Renegade Craft Fair and More Fun with Really Useful Boxes

Renegade Craft Fair and More Fun with Really Useful Boxes

I finished Renegade Craft Fair on Sunday and sorta collapsed.  With Unique LA happening the weekend before that was a lotta craft fair in a short period of time and I was dog-tired.

So I’ve spent this week catching up with wholesale orders that are looming (like tomorrow) and trying to regroup a bit.

Just like last year Renegade was great though!  Good, enthusiastic crowds and really bizarre (for LA) but perfect weather.  I sold well.  I mean nobody had the temerity to ruin my display this time but sales were steady.

Since I haven’t launched into new stuff this week (but it’s coming!) I didn’t feel I had much to share until I remembered that I wanted to say again just how truly great those Really Useful Boxes are.

You may remember I’d talked about them before.  They are terrific, plastic storage boxes and the key to their awesomeness is their straight sides.  Wide Range of Really Useful BoxesNo wasted space when you’re trying to pack things.

I’d also shown how I use them to create risers for my display tables Storage Boxes as Craft Table Displaybut this time I took it a step further when I realized that I had room for an extra little table but no little table with me.

Really useful boxes to the rescue!

I simply stacked the larger boxes (they nest together so they are quite stable)Really Useful Boxes Used as Extra Display Space

Easy Extra Display Space for Craft Booth and whammo!

Instant extra display space.Really Useful Boxes make great extra display tableIt was the perfect little platform that allowed me to get a few more items displayed up front.

This is also great for me since I’m always in need of things that serve double duty as car-space is always limited.

I am not, by the way, being compensated by the Really Useful Box Company for this post – I just dig ’em.  If you’re keen on them they are sold at Staples, Office Depot and via Amazon and I’ve seen them other places as well.

OK, on to new stuff!   People are already buying Halloween items, the CoOp is expanding and wants another table of goods (but new ones), I’ve got nibbles on some more wholesale accounts and, and and!  it’s nap time, isn’t it?

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

2 responses »

  1. great job–I’ve done that at my yard sales to have more display space

    they look like great storage boxes

    Reply
  2. Maybe you could start selling Really Useful Boxes as a side business. You could advertise and say “Not only am I a dealer for Really Useful Boxes but I am a customer, as well!” (That slogan might already be taken by someone else). Just a thought.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

