RSS Feed

I Sold My First Piece of Furniture!

I Sold My First Piece of Furniture!

I sold my first piece of furniture!

But it’s not what you might be thinking.

Cheltenham Road kinda sorta started years ago because I kept passing this hole-in-the-wall looking place near my house that always had painted furniture piled up outside.

One day I finally stopped.  The guy had tons of furniture all sloopily painted white or blue or green with sanded edges.  When I asked about the price I got sticker shock and thought “I could do that….better!”

I ran immediately over to Salvation Army and found this little number for $20!Bedside Table Makeover Before

I took it home! (not easy in a two door Honda).  Sanded it!  Primed it! Contemplated it!  Lost all interest in it!

And thus begins the sad (but with a happy ending) story of the first piece of furniture I ever bought to fix up.

As  Cheltenham Road took off this poor guy sat  dusty and quiet in the back corner of the Blair Witch room.

Then, to add insult to injury, when I did the Great Garage Clean Out and admitted that large pieces furniture clearly weren’t going to be my main thing anymore I dragged it out to the curb…where it broke in half.

And I suddenly thought, “No!  not a big, hard-to-transport-vanity – two end tables!Bedside Table Makeover Raw

I took it back to the garage!  I sanded it!  I cleaned it!  Contemplated the possibilities!  I Lost all interest!

And there it sat until the date for the Little French Market loomed and I realized I needed some furniture to fill out the booth.

So out the “end tables” came.

The damage where the connector went was fixable.

There was a chunk missing.Bedside Table Makoever OK a lot of damage

So I cut a piece of wood to match.Bedside Table Makeover Patching

Filled in with My Friend BondoBedside Table Makeover Bondo to the Rescue

And sanded it out.Bedside Table Makeover Sand the Bondo

A top coat of paint and we were almost there.

But now came the real debate.

Vintage Postcard Dresser Makeover

Postcard Dresser Makeover

End table makeover close-up

Easy End Table Makeover

French Label End Table

Graphics Fairy End Table Makeover

For me, the fun part is coming up with the ways to make a piece different.  To try new techniques etc.  So I really wanted to put some text on the drawers.  Or an image transfer of the Eifel Tower or maybe music!  Or maps! Or or or……….

Tutorial: Trash (literally) to treasure

Tutorial: Trash (literally) to treasure

London Underground Subway Art Dresser MakeoverBut here’s the thing.

My chatty, texty, postcard furniture gets admired but its sloooow to sell.  And I sit at these shows and watch all the white and green and blue furniture stream by.  And since my real goal was to A) make money and B) empty out the backlog of projects…..white with sanded edges it was.Bedside Table Makeover Complete

OK I had a little fun with the knobs.

And?

Gone 15 minutes after the gates opened!

So I finally sold my first piece of furniture!Three Mango SeedsOne-Room-Three-WaysDiamond in the Stuff

furniture-feature-fridays-copy

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

19 responses »

  1. Congrats! Selling your first piece is always the best feeling, even if it did take you a while – the journey is all part of the story, right? They came out super cute, no wonder they were gone in 15 flat……

    Reply
  2. LOL – sometimes you just have to go with the white, sanded flow! Personally, I love white sanded furniture, but I love more creative pieces as well. Glad you sold yours – they look great, especially the shades of green knobs.

    Reply
  3. The side tables look fantastic. What a stroke of genius!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Julie Crawford

    I know what you mean about the white selling faster. I still have the odd crazy weekend where I paint something red or violet, and they take ages to sell but I have fun with them. The green knobs are pretty!! Well done!! :0)

    Reply
  5. Very nice!! Yes, white always does sell faster.

    Reply
  6. I was expecting something all “Davided” up! But…. for sales, yes, white and perhaps you didn’t charge enough for your time and skills?

    Reply
  7. Alas. I, too, have found that white sells. Brilliant of you to make two end tables out of the vanity! And so glad that you were able to inject a bit of funkiness with the glass knobs. Well done!

    Reply
  8. “Lost interest” is my middle name!!!
    Good for you for not giving up on it!
    Very smart knob choice…so charming. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Congrats! Though if I ever saw some of your “texted up” pieces here on the east coast, I’d totally snap them up…I’m not into white furniture AT ALL. 😉

    Reply
  10. I just love your makeover. Who would have thought. They are gorgeous nightstands. I would love something like that for my bedroom. Great job!

    Reply
  11. Great idea. I see vintage vanities frequently. I never thought about buying one because the table portion is so low. Where did these gals put their knees ? I’ll keep this in mind. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

