RSS Feed

Things As Lovely as My Sisters III

I find it somewhat ironic (well, I think it’s ironic – maybe not……Alanis Morisette kind screwed up my understanding of that word) that I left corporate life to get out of an office and yet, I still spend a vast majority of my days sitting at a computer.

But rather than studying spreadsheets or legal documents I get to explore, design and play.   Much better!

Today was just such a day.  I took Monday off after the big Patchwork show (which was great in every respect) and then spent today playing catchup.

Fortunately my sisters have not been taking days off and have gathered a wide range of cool ideas to share in this, the third installment of “Things As Lovely As My Sisters” (formerly known as Stuff My Sisters Found Online When They Maybe, Probably Should Have Been Doing Something Else).

First up, sorry, but this is the coolest thing ever and if I ever come across the unused  back end of a truck I’m totally making oneTailgate Bench

And this definitely falls into the Homer Simpson D’OH! Why didn’t I think of this?  How great (and easy) would this chandelier server be to make for a party?Chandelier Serving Set

And this bureau made into a bench is all kinds of genius recycling/re purposing geniusTurn a Dresser into a Storage Bench

Paula wants me to make this for her….which I will…..as soon as I make it for myself.  Wouldn’t this be a great way to display candle blocks?display turntable

and finally, Paula spotted this, and though there is no link, this is EXACTLY what I want to make for my kitchenbanquette drawersIt would be perfect (and I need the storage) in the corner?  And now that I know how easy slide out drawers are to make.……Kitchen TableThanks Paula!  Thanks Phebe!  for all the great ideas and the continued support.

David

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. That pick up bench is a hoot! My bro loves vintage pickups. If I were rich and handy I’d make him one for his 60 th birthday!! But my sis would insist it stay where the garbage cans hide behind a gated area and their wood is stored!!!
    PS. New follower. I laugh. I am enjoying the instructions like for using that gel not ModPodge.

    Reply
  2. I’m sure you could find a truck thingie at an auto junk place. There’s one about 20 miles from us, there’s bound to be one you could get to. Go. for. it.

    Reply
  3. These are all fantastic finds! Very clever, I would love a Ford rear end bench, 🙂

    Reply
    • HI, Lori, I built the truck tailgate bench. I’ve made a few Fords and Dodges also. Thanks for the compliment!

      Reply
  4. The bureau made into a bench looks great, but wouldn’t the drawer pulls hurt the back of your calves when you sat on it?

    The truck back made into a bench is certainly a show stopper. People would definitely stop at your booth at shows, just to check it out, and then they would probably make a purchase as well. Could be a problem getting it to the shows in your auto though.

    Very clever ideas and fun to see.

    Patti

    Reply
    • Oh Patti. One can’t worry about comfort when something is that cool! (but you may be right…hadn’t thought of that)

      Reply
    • Hi, Patti, I built the tailgate bench are they are hard to lug around. I’ve made about 30 of them so far, and when I have them at a show, people just plop themselves down and stay awhile!

      Reply
  5. The pick-up truck bench is sheer genius. I love it! What was it sitting on–concrete posts? And I also thought “doh!” when I saw the chandelier party tray…Thank you to your lovely sisters! 🙂

    Reply
  6. I love the tailgate bench! My husband has pretty much everything it’s so hard to get him a gift for his birthday or anniversary but he does not have one of these it is a perfect idea and I’m going to make him one, thank you so much he is going to be so surprised that I finally came up with something that he does not have nor has ever seen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

