RSS Feed

Old Door Becomes a Display Table

Old Door Becomes a Display Table

My  stitches came out yesterday and though my thumb looks pretty bad it’s more functional now.

The return of opposable  thumbs is great because I’m in full-court prep for the big Patchwork Santa Ana show that happens this Sunday!Patchwork Craft Show Santa Ana California


If you are an Orange County denizen please do stop by.  The show is free,  the food is great and the range of craftspeople on hand is pretty awesome.  It’s also a totally charming area to just hang out on a Sunday afternoon.

So my mind seems to be stuck on display ideas.   I’m kind of obsessed about display.  I just can’t escape the gut-feeling that if I could just display things correctly people would buy them.

Last time I shared my portable craft-show wall and this time around I’ve got a table made out of an old door.  I realize I haven’t just invented the wheel here – people have been making doors into tables forever – but I thought I’d share the quick basics of how to make a nice, sturdy table.

The Backstory: My window display at CoOp 28 was a hitWindow Display and after it came down I wanted a spot in the store that was exclusively for Cheltenham Road products.

I asked Marci (the terrific owner of the CoOp) if that would be cool and she was on board.  Her only request was that I supply the table and I was happy to do so.

The table needed to fit the style of the store, it needed to be long and I needed it to be free (or free-ish).   I had an old door that was never, ever going to be used again and I also had some legs off a dining room table that my friends had given me.  Perfect! (and I apologize for being one of those obnoxious people who just have the “perfect” things lying around but that’s the upside of never throwing anything away.)

I’d seen a tutorial for making a Farm House Table over on Miss Mustard Seed’s blog so I used that as a guide.

The door was great but a bit too deep for the space so I trimmed off a few inches with my circular saw.Turn an old door into a table

For the apron I simply cut 1x3s to size (two 6’ pieces and two 2’ pieces).  Since I’m working by myself I used clamps and a carpenters square to hold the pieces at 90 degrees while I screwed them together.how to make an old door into a table  I attached the apron to the underside of the door using simple L brackets.Install L Brackets

And, finally I attached the legs to the apron with screws.

After I flipped the whole thing over I painted it……wait for it…….GREEN!!!!! and I was set to go.Finished Door Table

(Yes, I did clean the disgustingly dirty legs before I brought it to the store.)

My “after” pictures aren’t very spectacular as I had to use my phone* but you get the idea.CoOp 28 Los Feliz Store DisplayCoOp 28 Store Display

So far, it’s working!  Sales are up a bit and Marci seems happy with it.  After I’m done with the Patchwork show I’m going to play around with more levels and “decorations.”  I’ll keep you posted.

*Please pardon this brief Andy Rooney moment:

I feel like  live in an alternate universe.  Everyone else seems to be walking around gabbing on their phones without a care in the world but every phone conversation I have is about 75% “what?  I’m sorry you broke up/I lost you.”  And people take these amazing photos with their phones and mine always look like screen captures from a 7-11 surveillance camera.  And I’ve had several different phones with several different carriers.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. Nice table. I totally agree that presentation is 9/10ths of the lure (I just made that up, but I believe it). Your cell phone pics are amazing–maybe you are too picky? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Your table came out great….nice presentation of your product. Very professional looking!
    Glad to hear your sales are up too.

    Reply
  3. This looks awesome! But…stitches??!! Sorry, I’ve been traveling too much. Hope all is okay. Maybe it was just a matter of time…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

