RSS Feed

Published!

Published!

I’m back from Ohio and my dad’s 91st Birthday celebration.  I had a great time and  I was given more embarrassing pictures from my childhood!

And now it’s back to work.

Unique LA looms on my horizon Join me at Unique LA the 11th and 12th of Mayand I’m designing the booth and new projects and had planned to share those with you but something dropped in my mailbox yesterday that cannot be ignored.

OK, some backstory.

True confession:  when I was about 8 I discovered and went crazy for Star Trek (original recipe).   I watched it every day after school, built models, and had detailed plans for my future in space.

But tragedy struck when the local TV station decided to switch to showing it late at night, way past my bedtime, once a week on a school night.

I was outraged!   I wrote a protest letter (probably in crayon) but my pleas fell on deaf ears.

I was doomed, DOOMED! to never see Star Trek again.

But no!

This is how cool my mom was/is.

She would send me to bed at my regular time and then come up and get me and we’d go back downstairs and sit in the dark, on the sofa and watch Star Trek together.

It is one of my favorite childhood memories.

So, given this history you can imagine that when I was contacted a while ago to provide a Star Trek Themed project for an upcoming book I didn’t think twice and boldly went for it!

I made my little project (a Star Trek Party Table Centerpiece) –sent off the materials and text and, well, kinda forgot about it.

But yesterday the book arrived in my mailbox and I discovered that I have been published!!!!

(clicking on the pictures will take you to Amazon)Unique Star Trek Craft Projects

It’s a really cool book – full of fun, clever projects and beautifully laid out.

The Spock Sock Monkey is killin’ me!Star Trek Sock Monkey

And check out the DIY Star Trek sneakers!Star Trek Tennis Shoes

Don’t you think they would have been the perfect complement to this outfit from my childhood!Star Trek Childhood

(Yes, those are Star Trek jeans with little Enterprises all over them.  Yes that’s a Star Trek shirt.  Yes, I am holding a sparkler.  Yes, I was very popular in school – why would you ask?)

OH! and don’t forget today is the last day to win the Ipad mini via Amy at Mod Podge Rocks!  I want one of you to win it so that I have bragging rights over my fellow contributors (like the guy who owns the 7-11 where the winning lottery ticket was purchased).want-to-win-an-ipad-mini

OK, gotta get to work.  Lots to do and lots to share in the next week or so.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. Congrats Uncle David! How cool! Why, you didn’t breathe a word of this when you were here… (I know, I know, you had forgotten about it – I’ll let it slide this once.)

    That’s really really cool – I’m ordering my copy now. 😉

    Also – nice picture…

    Reply
  2. Also: the irony that you shared your Star TREK-related post on the very auspicious Star WARS Day (“May the Fourth be with you…”) is NOT lost on this niece of yours…

    Reply
  3. LOVE the old photo. The old original Star Treks were the best, I used to watch them after school as well, but I didn’t have any outfits!

    Reply
  4. I want to see your Star Trek centerpiece! 🙂

    Reply
  5. O.M.G. I have never seen Star Trek jeans (so jealous). How sweet that your mom would come wake you up and watch it with you! Very very sweet. Oh, and congratulations on getting published! What a cool book, I’m ordering several, and hope you will autograph them for me. 😀

    Reply
  6. Very cool mom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

