RSS Feed

Craft Booth Set Up For the Little French Market

Craft Booth Set Up For the Little French Market

Interesting.

I left the corporate world for the bucolic life of a crafter.

So how is that I am currently sitting in an airport with my laptop desperately trying to catch up on work during a layover?

I have to confess what I imagined life would be like as my own boss is very different from the reality.  There are times when I think my boss is out to get me.  For instance he scheduled me to do the Little French Market, then a day later leave for Ohio and my dad’s 91st birthday, then come back with just 10 days to get ready for Unique LA.  What is he, nuts?!

The market was fun and I had a great couple of days hanging out with Nicki and her, um,  colorful friends.  It’s a real core group who do this market and they are a hoot.  I had a blast.

I got a lot of pictures of my booth to share.

I used the collapsible cake stands I designed for Mod Podge Rocks to display by candle blocks.black and white candle block display  My bathing beauties sold fast!  I can’t wait to make more.

Craft Booth Set Up And set up my coaster board in a triangle in the corner of the tent to catch people’s eyes.

Coaster Display Tower

Coaster Display Tower

The small subway signs, it turns out, fit nicely in my vintage suitcase as do my magnet packages.Subway Signs

I hung the large subway signs and scattered the others around a bitSubway Graphic Signs for San Francisco and Los Angeles

And, oh so happily, I sold the four chairs that I desperately needed to get rid of to free up some space.Oak Chair Makeover
So now it’s on to dad and his party, all three of my sisters (we’re seldom all in one place) and my niece Maggie who has apparently been released from white slavery but, tragically, has lost her passion for furniture makeovers.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

3 responses »

  1. The space looks very inviting and aesthetically pleasing. Your products are so tempting! I guess being your own boss, while the American dream for all of us, does have its share of challenges too. Like having to take your boss on vacation with you….horrible. 🙂 Have fun in Ohio and best wishes to Dad!

    Reply
  2. That’s why you need to become somebody’s boss.

    Reply
  3. As usual, bosses just don’t seem to realize what it takes to make things happen! Have a good trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

