RSS Feed

I Think My Parents May Be Trying to Tell Me Something

I have been in full factory mode lately:  sawing sanding and drilling in hopes that this will make it super easy to assemble some coaster, candlebock or subway sign on short notice.

In short what I’m saying is that if you are here looking for some clever new idea or potential Pinterest eye candy this may not be the blog post for you.

In truth I’m a bit off my game today and it’s because of my parents (and the show I watched last night about the conspiracy to fake the moon landing).

Today is my birthday and, as they do every year my parents called to wish me a good day.  In the course of the conversation my mom casually asked if I had received my birthday card yet and seemed distressed that I had not.

I didn’t read anything into that until just now when the aforementioned birthday card actually arrived.

The front reads:  “You know what son it’s plain to see”

And then inside there is this picture.American Greetins Birthday CardIt all seemed fine and cute until I looked a bit closer.

Clearly the squirrels represent our family….but the numbers just  don’t add up.

As you know I have three sisters.Sally

This is clearly Sally as she wears glasses.  Well, ok they all wear glasses but I recall stories that Sally had some kid of eye operation when she was a child so it’s perfectly logical to assume that this is she.Paula

There is no questioning that this is Paula as, even in anthropomorphized form she has appropriate jewelry and a professionally fluffed tail.Phebe

That makes this one, by default, Phebe.  While Phebe is not known for her hat choices this squirrel looks like a calm, organized, loving and together sort of varmint which sums up my sister.me

Me.   He  is, of course, the focus of the card and also, as you are all well aware, if there was anyone who was likely to fall out of a tree head-first it would be me.

But who, exactly,  is this!?Untitled-2

It’s not either one of my parents and even if it were why only one of them?

He is clearly not “in” the tree but rather just lurking there at the bottom.  But why include him unless he is part of the family?  His sideways hat indicates a sort of “rough around the edges black sheep squirrel” sort of character.  But my parents have never mentioned a potential fifth rodent-sibling before.

What are they trying to say?

Are they just easing us into some  sort of news?

Phebe’s birthday is in a couple of weeks.  Lets see if she gets a card portraying us all as fish or something with some unidentified 5th lobster skulking  in the corner.

I’ll keep you posted.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

13 responses »

  1. Clearly there are family secrets, as in every family. But get this … how much $$$$$ was in the card?!?!?!

    Reply
  2. That.Is.Freaking.Hilarious!!!

    Happy Birthday, David!!!

    Reply
  3. Clearly, mom keeping an eye out for you all!

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday David,, have a wonderful year!
    (About the card, I think you need to get out of the “factory” more!)

    Reply
  5. Actually, I do wear a lot of hats…and now I’m scared of my birthday card…

    Reply
  6. I love it. Even the birthday card is psychoanalyzed. Clearly indicates a here to for “unknown sibling”. And, we can’t even determine the sex of this sibling as he/she is only partially revealed AND wears a unisex hat side ways. Very mysterious.

    Can’t wait for the next installment, Phebe’s birthday card. (Always expecting more merriment and more mysteries.)

    Reply
  7. ahahahahahaha…I’m cracking up over Julie’s comment!!!
    Hope you had a fabulous birthday! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Well there was that time with granddad at the Military dance….

    Reply
  9. Well, obviously a wanna-be boyfriend to which sister? Happy Birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

