RSS Feed

Cheltenham Road’s First Window Display

Cheltenham Road’s First Window Display

What a week!

I occasionally feel that, although I really love my life right now, it has become bit of an M.C. Escher drawing.MC_Escher_Relativity_Stairs_by_ICPJuggalo1988My tiny, little one-person factory went into overtime trying to do too many things at once while simultaneously managing to feel like I wasn’t really getting anywhere.

Not quite sure how I managed that.

But, happily my first ever store window display is up!

Backstory:  Marci, the terrific woman who runs CoOp 28, asked in January if I would do the store window for the month of April.

It sounded like fun!  It sounded do-able!  It sounded so far away!

But suddenly it was the end of March and  it dawned on me that if I was filling a window with my items as if to say “come in this store and you too can have these items” that those items should also, probably actually BE IN THE STORE!

Which meant things needed to be doubled.

So yesterday was installation.

I know you won’t believe this but I didn’t chose to make the wall green.  It already was green – Marci just asked that I add some spring-like stripes.CoOp 28 Wndow in progress

I thought the subway signs would look good within the stripes.CoOp 28 April Window Subway Graphic SignsI scattered some HOME signs around for Chicago:CoOp-28-Window-Chicago-HOME-sign

Atlanta, New York, Columbus, Detroit, San Francisco, Los Angeles etcHOME-Signs-for-CoOp-28-Window-April-2013And then filled in with candle blocks and a GIANT HOME sign

CoOp-28-Windwo-Display-by-Cheltenham-RoadStore-Window-CoOp-28Oddly, it looks kind of like a toy store to me………

Let’s see (and hope!)  if it draws people in.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

21 responses »

  1. If I walked by that store I would stop for sure and have a BIG smile on my face… it’s fabulous!

    Reply
  2. You are an absolute artist, seriously – unbelievable. Yep, they’ll come in, and they’ll buy. Great job!!!

    Reply
  3. For sure catches the eye and attention…great job! It looks like just plain FUN!

    Reply
  4. well done, it looks great!

    Reply
  5. Absolutely love it. So eye catching!!

    Reply
  6. Congrats on your first store window! It looks so professional and cheery for spring. You really are talented and I wish you the best. I enjoy your e-mails and am proud of another midwesterner.

    Reply
  7. Wish I could shop there … terrific job!!

    Reply
  8. It looks amazing! Of course it does:)

    Reply
  9. That is GORGEOUS! If I was walking past there, I’d definitely be enticed into the store.

    Reply
  10. Aw, that’s lovely!! It would definitely draw me in. Congratulations on the window display opportunity. J

    Reply
  11. The window looks great, but the highlight of your post was the line “It sounded like fun! It sounded do-able! It sounded so far away!”. I burst out laughing because I know that feeling so well. I fall prey to it all the time. If it wasn’t for deadlines I wouldn’t accomplish a fraction of what needs to be done. I love your posts.

    Reply
  12. What a wonderful window display! I would definitely want to go inside and check things out! Good luck!

    Reply
  13. David…Super window, but then anything that you put together is deserving of being noticed!
    Doreen and I shared the same feeling about this post…..so since I do have deadlines
    coming up, I am off to complete them and look forward to reading about your next
    “adventure”!

    Reply
  14. Another fun adventure with you. Thanks for sharing all the fun that you experience with us. We are all in it together with you. And this one is a triumph. We are so proud.

    Reply
  15. OMG your window display is gorgeous David!! I love it!! It would definitely would draw me in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

