RSS Feed

The Stores

The Stores

I’ve been running in a lot of directions of late and feeling a bit frustrated and stressed.   But as I struggled to get some focus today and write a blog post I realized that what I really want to do right now is take a moment to appreciate my good fortune.

I’ve been very lucky to meet and work with some terrific people as I’ve tried to grow this business.

For instance, I just have to share further proof that the guys at Angelo HOME may be some of the most generous folks around.

The LA Times did a very nice article about the new Angelo HOME storeAngelo Surmelis' new home decor store in downtown L.A. - latimes.comThey talked about the new store, the Angelo HOME product line and Angelo’s passion for helping people have affordable, fun and stylish things for their home.  Angelo Surmelis' new home decor store in downtown courtesy of the LA TimesI’m reading along, enjoying the article and it mentions the local artists they have in the shop and describes my stuff.  Cool!  Then I notice my name is an active link which, it turns out, takes you to….. my Etsy shop!  So, in the midst of an article about their own store and what’s available there they are also sending people directly to me!?   I’m just blown away and very appreciative.

(It’s also Angelo’s Birthday today so, if you’re so inclined, head on over to the Angelo HOME Facebook page and wish him a  happy one!)

And I’ve just recently added a new shop to my list of local vendors.  Mindful Nest is a nifty boutique that happens to be very near my home.Mindful Nest Burbank CA  The owner Amanda brings a huge range of creative, interesting and beautiful  things all into one spot – there is truly something there for everyone.  I’m so pleased to be included in her list (and she sold two of my Subway Signs about an hour after I dropped them off!).The Mindful Nest Burbank CA

And finally, the perpetually cool Marci who runs CoOp 28 has been a huge part of the success of Cheltenham Road.  CoOp 28 Handmade and Vintage CoOp 28She took me on early in this endeavor and never fails to encourage me (and also tell me honestly when I’ve gone off the rails with an idea).    The CoOp is thriving and she’s asked me to do the windows for the month of April.  CoOp 28 Handmade and VintageI’ve never done (or contemplated doing)  a window before but it’s going to be a great showcase and I’m looking forward to the challenge.

Happy Thursday to all!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. Dear David,

    Of course you and these wonderful vendors have attracted one another into successful relationships. And of course it is no accident! Your creativity, attention to detail and aesthetic are just what they and their customers need and we so enjoy being let in on. Keep up the great work.

    Dave

    Reply
  2. Good things happen to good people. Congratulations on your well deserved and hard earned success.

    Reply
  3. So happy for you, David….there is no place to go except onward to more success!!

    Reply
  4. Dude. (I can call you that cause we’re friends and all, right?). SO happy for all your successes. Well-deserved. As far as the window…it’s just like one of your awesome vignettes, only on a larger scale. Maybe it will help to think of it that way? Take photos! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Yaay! I agree with Susan -we must see pics of your window which will be amazing of course!

    Reply
  6. We should plan a lunch, when you can take me by the window to ooh and aah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

