RSS Feed

Le Brad Nailer est Mort!

Le Brad Nailer est Mort!

YAY!  My brad nailer broke!

The timing was IDEAL! – I was on a deadline to get something out and really needed the nailer to finish.

Do I sound sarcastic?  I assure you  I’m being quite sincere because, although I know it’s wrong to hate, I truly HATE(ed) my brad nailer.

It jammed all the time and the nails never went in all the way (yes, I read the instruction book, no, I wasn’t doing something wrong… why would you assume that?).

But worst of all….WORST OF ALL…..was its evil cord.

Eeeviiiillllllll!

“How can a cord be eeevvviiil” you might ask.

This thing totally had a life of its own it was very thick and extremely…. un-bendy.

So unbendy that, no journey from wall outlet to project was complete unless it knocked over three things on its way.  It didn’t matter if there weren’t actually three things between the outlet and me – Unbendy would seek out things and knock them over.

It was so unbendy that when you weren’t using the nailer and wanted to wrap the cord around it – you couldn’t.  Oh sure, it would pretend to wrap and then, just when you got it hung up and turned around “brlllippp!”

unbendy cord everywhere!

And it would  take other, innocent, items off the wall with it in its  in its burst to freedom.

(and don’t get me started on how it never quite fit in where I needed to drive a nail or how it’s “safety settings” were so concerned about my welfare that half the time no nails came out of it)

In short, similar to how the Munchkins  felt about the wicked witch – I’m glad it’s dead!Chalk Outline

Because it’s passing (along with gift cards provided by my terrific parents and sisters) allowed me to make a

JUSTIFIED POWER TOOL PURCHASE!!!!!

Every man (and woman too I imagine)  dreams of the JPTP opportunity but they are rare.  Because while, yes, you can always buy a power tool how often is it really justified?

And I now have this thing of beauty.Pin NailerAnd life is perfect!

Except have I mentioned how much I loathe my Drill Press………….

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. HAHA love the chalk drawing around your dead nailer! LOL

    Crappy tools can really turn you off of working. I had a lousy jigsaw and it died and when I got my new one it was like it was a completely different tool, it cut like butter and I heard angels singing! I hope your new tool works better for you. I have a new nailer in a package with a compressor and I haven’t even tried it yet, I hope it’s nicer to me than your old one was to you.

    Reply
  2. No JPTP for me until I have a bigger shop.

    Reply
  3. Welcome to the wonderfull world of air tools.

    Reply
  4. I love reading your blog and this one was hysterical. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  5. You are hilarious! I love the outline of the nailer!

    Classic. 🙂

    Have a great day rock star!
    karianne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

