RSS Feed

What’s next? Make your own knobs part II

Subway Graphic Custom KnobsWhenever I arrive at Angelo HOME hauling some stock of coasters or, perhaps a giant LA sign, they say “Great!  What are you doing next?”

I’m incredibly fortunate (and kind of exhausted) to have a place that really encourages me to push my creativity.

Last time I went in Angelo requested that I do a kind of coat rack/wall shelf incorporating my subway sign graphics.

He thoughtfully provided this detailed graphic to help me understand his vision:Detailed SketchOK!

So, first up, some refiguring of my Subway GraphicsRevised Subway Art Graphic

(I created them using the same method I’d used for my Mod Podge Rocks project oh so long ago.)

I cut a backer board to size and attached the graphicsSubway Graphic Shelf

and I screwed the shelf in from the backDrill from the back to attach shelfEasy.

Now….hooks or knobs or something.

I had seen a tutorial about using Envirotex Lite to make knobs on Infarrently Creative so I thought I’d give it a shot.

I bought some inexpensive wood knobs and colored them using a sharpieUse a Sharpie to color the knobs

I’d found this subway graphic for inspirationImage2.258150846

and created my own version and sized them to fit on the knobs.Custom Subway Graphics by Cheltenham Road

I wanted them to lay down flat so I soaked each image in water* before applying it to the knob with Mod Podge.Soak the image

As I applied them I rubbed a little of the graphic away for a vintage look.

After they dried I sealed them with another coat of Mod Podge and left them to dry.Seal with Mod Podge

I mixed the Envirotex exactly as instructed and poured it over the knobs.

Unfortunately, I hadn’t really thought through the whole process……  I wanted to keep the knobs upright so I had poked screws through a piece of Styrofoam and then attached the knobs.  But there wasn’t much clearance between the bottom of the knob and Styrofoam.  Sooooo when I poured the resin it just pooled around the base. oops

In a sticky extravaganza I then had to remove the knobs and put them though a thick piece of cardboard.Finished Knob

Much better!

As the Envirotex dried I kept an eye on it and removed any drips before they dried into stalagmites.

After they dried thoroughly I just had to screw them onto the backer board and I was good to goVintage Subway Graphic Wall ShelfVintage New York Subway Art Wall Shelf

I am LOVING these knobs.  Finalized Hand Made Subway Graphic KnobsFinished Knobs Up CloseI’m thinking I may have found a new, fun product!

*soaking the images in water will only work with a laser print – ink jet prints will, most likely run1aaadoveladygfairy006Three Mango SeedsCraftomaniacMondayButtonDIYShowOffbuttonsmallDiamond in the Stufftutorialsandtipstodays creative

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

21 responses »

  1. DAVID!! THAT IS GORGEOUS!!!! WOW!! (yes I’m shouting!)…It’s just beautiful. I love those knobs, and I adore the completed project. Beautiful beautiful beautiful. You really have such a good eye.

    Reply
  2. FABULOUS as usual… love the vertical “signs” and the knobs are so cool! I just love the whole thing, the black and white, everything! Are you just making the one, or are those part of your new inventory?

    Reply
    • Thanks Julie! I think I may make more – Angelo HOME has the exclusive on them – we’ll see if people dig it. But I am definitely making knobs – they were fun, easy and……I have a lot of random knobs lying around the garage.

      Reply
  3. Love it as always! The knobs are especially fab!

    Reply
  4. Oh, wow, this is really great…I’m so impressed!

    Reply
  5. You really went above and beyond the call filling that request. Amazing.

    Reply
  6. I feel a little uncomfortable about telling you how much I like your knobs, Uncle David…

    Reply
  7. I’ve been following your blog for a while now, and I just wanted to say I really like what you make and how you are so frequently challenged with coming up with something new and then how you just rise to the occasion and come up with something just AWESOME!

    Also, I like to use resin for making jewelry and sealing in the polymer clay pieces I make. It is definitely a tricky medium to play with, but I think what you did with it for your first time is awesome!

    I kinda feel weird about this, but I wanted to share another blog I follow so that you can see all the things you can actually do with resin, as well as a lot of great tips:

    resincrafts.blogspot.com/

    Again, love the things you make!! Keep up the good work!!

    Reply
    • Thank you Teresa both for the compliment and the link to the resincrafts site. I found lots of useful insights about resin and how to use it. Now I’m kinda itching to experiment with shrinky dinks and resin.

      Reply
  8. So cool! I think those knobs turned out great. Thanks for sharing at ITS PARTY TIME. Hugs!

    Reply
  9. Oh my gosh I adore them David. Thanks for the shout out on my post. I will facebook it out right now!

    Reply
  10. Awesome! So many possibilities… an entire entryway wall? Hmmm….

    Reply
  11. Love the knobs! The whole wall shelf looks great!

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Chalkboard Paint Ideas - Todays Creative Blog

  13. I love the shelf and the knobs! So very awesome! Pinned!

    Reply
  14. This is awesome!!! I’m planning on trying the Environtex stuff on canvas….I hope it turns out!

    Reply
    • Thanks. Envirotex is pretty easy to work with. Just follow the directions closely and I’ve found that blowing through a straw to pop the air bubbles works really well. Good luck!

      Reply
  15. Pingback: Want to Make Knobs? Super Cute Knobs You Can Make!

  16. love these next time I do a subway dresser…and on my blog I have lots lots lots of work to do

    Reply

Leave a Reply

