RSS Feed

Slip Sliding Away…….

I hope everyone had a good weekend.

So, I blogged about my “aren’t-I-clever-slide-out-utility-wall” feeling all accomplished and about 20 minutes after hitting “publish” this popped up in my Pinterest feedEnviroholder Sliding Magic Rack

Enviroholder Sliding Magic5 Postion Wall Organizer

Source Amazon

DID YOU ALL KNOW ABOUT THIS?!!!!

Nothing quite like feeling clever and then discovering you could buy pretty much the same thing for $20 on Amazon.

I, of course,  checked it out on Amazon – looks like a great product

And……….

now, thanks to the wonder of the internet and cookies/tracking  EVERY SINGLE WEBSITE I OPEN is accompanied by a helpful add for the Envirholder Magic Slide Out Utility Holder.

how awesome.

But!

Undaunted I soldier on on my journey of slide out drawer installation happiness.

If you recall the lower portion of my built in platform has a slide out for shoes.Chletenham Road Slide Out Shelves for Pantry Makeover

I don’t think I forged any major new ground with it but I wanted to share the construction as it too was very easy.

As I mentioned money was the key so scrap wood/leftovers were my primary building source.

The platform itself is just three pieces of 1×6 cut to length and screwed together to make a U shape.

Before I assembled the platform I attached the mounting hardware for the slide out to each side.  I did it beforehand to make sure they would be at exactly the same height and position.

To make the slide out shoe shelf itself I cut a  piece of scrap wood to size and attached the sliders themselves  to either end.  Prep the slide outAttache Slide Outs to side of drawer

I also  pre-drilled holes so I could screw in a little retaining bar (to keep the shoes from sliding off).

After making sure it all fit (and slid) Slide Out PlatformI painted everything out in the same bright white I’d used on the trim.

As a last minute addition I drilled some left-over metal flashing I had to the drawer so it would be waterproof and easy to clean up.Pull Out Slide for Shoes

If you know of a similar set up that costs $4 on Amazon….please keep this information to yourself.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. Love the shoe shelf. I’m not as handy with wood and tools as you are, but I had the same objective, i.e.a way to slide out all my shoes with one pull, to be able to vacuum my clothes closet floor. I bought a rag rug that almost matches floor color at Target for $3.00 on sale. Works for me. I only mention this because I didn’t find it on Amazon.com. Is that OK? Love your humorous comments, they always elicit a chuckle. Thanks.

    Reply
  2. Hey, the first guy to reinvent the wheel still invented the wheel…getting there first isn’t EVERYTHING, in my opinion. 😉 I like your slide out drawer, too, and while I have seen slide-out drawers before, I have not seen metal flashing attached to it. That is such a simple yet elegant solution to the problem of needing an easy-to-clean surface there. Another display of brilliance. J

    Reply
  3. OH your slide outs are so much better than anything on amazon. And they both fit YOUR space exactly. And you get to look at your creation and feel the pride of doing it yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

