RSS Feed

Getting Stuff Done

Getting Stuff Done

Ever have one of those weekends when you’re so busy getting things done that you can’t get anything done?

I spent my time running around trying to get the “finishing touches” done on the Pantry remodel.  “Finish Touches” is in quotes because was supposed to be a super easy re-paint project and I’ve turned it into a Million Pieces project and I keep thinking I’m almost done and then discovering I’ve forgotten something that will require more futzing.  But I’m almost there…..

I did, however get my custom projects done and delivered.

The good folks at Angelo HOME asked me to make them a storefront display piece for their window.  It was to look like a lamppost.  They sent me this patternangeloHOME Lamp Post

And here is the final result (kinda hard to see cause of the glare I know).Angelo HOME sign finished

I’m quite sure a real carpenter could have turned this out in a few days (let’s be honest it’s a stick with another stick sticking out of it) but it took me weeks.  I’m deeply grateful for their patience.

I also finished up another custom HOME sign  – this time featuring the great city of Cincinnati!HOME sign for Cincinnati

Cincinnati Map HOME Sign E And I’d run out of coaster blanks so I made…..10000

Here is them:

A million coaster blanks

And here is me after cutting them.dust man

That shirt is bright green and there is writing on it.  Dusty!

And today I’m excited because I’m….ACTUALLY GOING TO LEAVE THE HOUSE and put on grown up clothes!

I have a Small Business Seminar to go to all day to learn about taxes!  Yeah….not so exciting  but I will see people who aren’t me!

And after that I’m starting a Tabletop Photography Class so perhaps my photographs can stop looking like thisCandle Blocks

And start looking like thisVintage Wallpaper Candle Holders

Without 5 million shots in between.

I’ll report back with any fascinating insights I acquire!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. It’s beautiful. Can’t wait to see the finished “maze of doors”. Oh sorry, pantry.

    Reply
  2. What a beautiful result for the store lamppost sign. Really elegant.

    Reply
  3. I think the sign post turned out fab! Yaay for grown up clothes…I sort of remember those!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much! To be honest I’m very relieved that the folks at Angelo HOME were happy with the sign. (sadly my grown up clothes were kind of tight……apparently grown up me is skinnier than slacker me)

      Reply
  4. The lantern….absolutely fabulous! Slacker or grown-up….you are a rock star!

    blessings,
    karianne

    Reply
  5. The lantern is wonderful! I pinned the Cincinnati HOME sign! Great work!

    Reply
  6. David, better late than never — thought I’d pass this on to you. Another great crafty blogger like yourself tells how she got her professional photo equipment (I’m assuming?) for free: http://thepolkadotcloset.blogspot.com/2013/06/im-loving-my-new-photo-cube.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

