RSS Feed

Another Easy DIY Craft Show Display

Another Easy DIY Craft Show Display

I woke up late and tired yesterday because all my dreams had been about not being able to fall asleep.  Does dreaming about not falling asleep qualify as ironic?  (Alanis Morrisette has screwed me up on how to actually use that word).

However, often in that not awake/not asleep state I get good ideas for projects and even though I couldn’t tell what was true or not I did have a brainstorm about making a display.

You see, one of my favorite stores (and not just because she stocks my stuff), CoOp 28 has expanded and is opening a Men’s Department.  Here are some in-progress shotsCoOp 28 Men's DepartmentIt looks totally cool!CoOp 28 New Men's Department

Marci (the owner) had tasked me to come up with some new products as well as a new display that would feature my baseball card coasters (manly!)

I had tasked me to make it without spending any money.  And in my awake/asleep/ironic state I formed an idea.

Once I woke up it came together fast and was pretty easy.

I grabbed some scrap 1×2’s that I had left over from a previous project (this is where all that hoarding comes in useful) and made the following cuts:Scrap Wood

  • Eleven pieces cut to 20” long (backboard)
  • Two pieces cut to 19” long (frame/support)
  • Three pieces cut to 20” long. (Shelves)

I stained and sanded them down fairly smooth.  Stain the WoodUsually I’d sand and then stain but I wanted a kind of uneven, distressed look and sanding afterwards did the trick.

I set up the two 19” long pieces parallel to each other and nailed the 20” pieces in place.Attach the Wood to the Frame

I liked it but decided it was a little too dark so I dry brushed some white paint over everything which gave me a good, weathered, look (you’ll see it in the final shots).

To put the shelves in place I pre-drilled holes in the front then put my shelf pices in place and screwed them in from the back.Pilot Holes for ShelvingNext up I had to figure out how to keep the coasters from falling off the shelves since this was going to be wall-mounted.  I wanted the coasters to be 100% visible so I needed something see through.

I had a sheet of Plexiglas that had come with a thrift store picture frame.  I thought the plexi would be perfect as a retaining wall so-to-speak  so I cut it into 2×20” strips.  (I used a utility knife to cut them which takes FOREVER.  I’m going to buy a plexi cutter if I do this again).

To screw the plexi into place I predrilled screw holesMark and drill holes (The painters tape is there to ensure a smooth cut.  The two “X’s” are there because I mis-measured the first time.  The dust is there because I forgot to clean the plexi)   I  discovered that drilling slowly was the key to not cracking the plexi.

Once the shelves were in place I was ready to go.Rustic DIY DisplayI hung it temporarily on the wall for these pics – at the store I will screw it into place.Coaster Display Project

I do realize that not everyone has scrap wood around let alone scrap plexi.  The 1×2 boards are very inexpensive (something like $1.50 at Home Depot for a 6′ length).  The plexi was great for me because I needed the full visibility but in most cases a thin strip of wood screwed or nailed to the front of the shelf would work just fine to hold things in place.Custom Product Display Tutorial

This display is made to mount on a wall but I’m thinking I could easily make a tabletop version by turning it into an A-Frame/Sandwich board set upRustic Product Display Close UpNow, fingers crossed that Marci digs it!DIYShowOffbuttonsmallpicket fencecraft o maniacShabby CreekFrugalicious Friday

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

15 responses »

  1. OOOH! Great work, that display came out really nice!

    Reply
  2. What an amazing professional looking display….how you have packaged your coasters is great too….no wonder you are doing so well! I totally understand the “brain won’t shut off so I can sleep thing” …at least you really knocked one out of the park with this…get some rest..ha.

    Reply
  3. Great display!

    Reply
  4. EASY DIY……Ha!! Ha!!……for you yes, all I need is first the GREAT IDEA, the wood hanging around, the tools and all of the rest plus someone like YOU to put it together for me and then it WOULD be EASY, exactly what I need and look perfect holding the whatever………just like yours……. LOL!!

    Your coasters should sell really well at CoOp 28! They look great on the shelf!!

    I look forward to enjoying your Blog which always makes my day……..and will stick w/ cooking…….

    Reply
  5. Smashing – I’m going to have a go at this.

    Reply
    • Great! If, as you get into it you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask and please share the finished product! I really enjoy seeing where other people’s imaginations take them.

      Reply
  6. The display looks perfect for Marci’s shop…Thanks for the tutorial!

    Reply
  7. Great display shelf, you may just have created a new business for yourself making shelving. I never thought of using plexi, and I have some scraps, so I might just steal your idea. Your coasters look SO professional!!!

    Reply
  8. What an awesome shelf. i bet you love using it!
    hugs x
    Crystelle

    Reply
  9. That is GORGEOUS!! Great work. Also, I can see a lot of people wanting a case like that for various “displayables.” Might think about adding it to the catalogue.

    Reply
  10. How interesting that you formed your idea while in the “awake/asleep/ironic state”. That is when I do most of my designing. I’m a fiber artisan and do some graphic design. When I’m searching for an idea I wait until I go to bed and then start my designing while in the awake/asleep state. I have to be careful though, because sometimes I forget the idea when I wake up, so I have to tell myself (to the other person inside of me) to be sure to remember it. Sounds a bit crazy, but that’s how it works for me.

    Your ideas are all so great!! I love your coasters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

