RSS Feed

I Like Big Signs and I Cannot Lie

I Like Big Signs and I Cannot Lie

Well the pantry project got a bit sidelined for the past few days.  It’s coming along – walls painted, doors painted…..and that’s about it.

I still have to figure out how I’m going to spruce up this sinkUtility SinkFrightening.

I have big plans though!  And all will be revealed soon!….just not super soon.

But, I have a good excuse.  I’ve been working on something fun.

The good folks at Angelo Home (seriously, if you are in LA you should check out this store!) issued a challenge to me.

They love my HOME sings but they wanted an LA sign that made a statement.

I know what you’re thinking: “yes David, you put graphics on letters we’ve, um, seen that already.”

But you see these are BIG letters!Wooden Letters Los Angeles Sign

Really bigLos Angeles Vintage Graphic Sign

Like three feet tall big – I’ve added the Lollipop Guild so you can get a sense of the scale.LA Sign with Lollipop Guild

Truth be told I’ve always wanted to make bigger signs  (little Nart’s sign was just the start!) but had never taken the time to work out the details.

In this case the details consisted of the fact that everything I needed to do was juuuuust a little bit bigger than the tool, printer or piece of wood I had.

But, despite some cursing, I gave it a shot and I’m pleased with the result. LA SignNow I just need to figure out how to hang them…..I don’ think 3M Command Strips are gonna cut it.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

10 responses »

  1. Utterly gorgeous. Makes me wish I lived in LA! When you said they were big, I was hoping you’d put a quarter next to them for context–so the lollipop guild was quite unexpected…. 🙂 Beautiful work, as always.

    Reply
  2. Love all your letters, bigger is better! Can you hang with sawtooth hangers? I use them all the time)

    Reply
  3. Being a 3M retiree, I think a whole bunch of Command Hooks would do the trick and keep my pension coming…

    Date: Thu, 31 Jan 2013 05:47:05 +0000 To: bkjobe@hotmail.com

    Reply
  4. Love the letters and how they POP against that bright green! 🙂

    Reply
  5. That LA sign is AWESOME. I’m fairly certain I will be ordering one soon. Bet they sell like crazy.

    Reply
  6. Love your LA letters, keep up the good work!

    Reply
  7. Love the BIG LA letters……………I need 3 PCB for panama city beach……………..wonder how much that would cost to ship, ugh…………maybe I need to rethink and stay small, hahaa….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

