RSS Feed

Things as Beautiful as My Sisters (FKA – Get Inspired)

Things as Beautiful as My Sisters (FKA – Get Inspired)

It’s time for another installment of the series formerly known as Get Inspired and now known as Things As Beautiful As My Sisters.

The name change came at the suggestion of Donna who’s 2013 New Years Resolution seems to be: “Do very cool blog projects of my own and, in my downtime, find ways to get David in trouble.”

In a truly shocking development my sisters liked the new name and so we are going with it.

 

 First up how cool almost as beautiful as my sister is this cake-carrier lamp that Phebe spotted  from Lillie Dale?

(clicking on the pictures will take you to the full tutorials)Cake Carrier Lamp

I’ve seen those cake carriers at thrift stores and such but it never occurred to me to turn it into a lamp.  She gives a great tutorial for it on her blog and it makes me think about all the other old objects that could be transformed in a similar way.

And how beautiful and clever is this bench-from-a-bed project courtesy of Scissors and Spatulas ?Bench

It really makes me miss working on furniture (it’s been a while but I have plans!)

Paula came across this nifty card catalog end table from Bad RabbitCreative End TableI fear I’ve missed the “we’re throwing these out” card catalogue wave though.  Every time I see them they cost a mint!  But I really want one!

 And finally, because Paula knows of my current mania for getting organized on a budget she found this terrific and terrifically simple idea from the Family Handyman MagazineEasy Storage Solution

 OK, back to work on the pantry.  How can dismantling one tiny room cause the rest of the house to become a chaotic mess?

Also, anyone have tips on painting the inside of a door to the outside?  It takes paint a long time to fully cure and I imagine that, even if I leave it open all day to dry, when I close it the new paint is going to stick to where the door meets the door frame and it will all rip off the next morning………..

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. Hi David,

    A smear of Vaseline down the door frame helps to stop the edge of the door sticking to it. Good luck:-)

    Reply
    • Excellent suggestion.  Thank you very much.  It’s pouring down rain here at the moment (I believe that actually should be your line what with living in England and all….) so my experiment will have to wait but I really appreciate it.

       

      >________________________________

      Reply
  2. Hey, that card-catalog-giveaway trend missed me too. However, at work there is an old wooden card catalog that used to be in the corporate library, and is now relegated to a dusty alcove beside the fifth-floor elevators. It’s quite lovely (though I doubt it’s as beautiful as your sisters), but I’ve always wondered what I would use it for… Just doesn’t seem practical. Not that everything has to be practical, but there’s only so much space in one’s house, right?

    Reply
  3. Or I guess you could use a candle; I read somewhere (can’t remember where… *cough*) that candle wax stops paint sticking:-)

    For once it’s not raining, but it’s very windy and heavy rain moves in this evening. Makes a change from the snow:-( Roll on Spring!

    Jackie

    Reply
  4. I too would like to suggest using a candle. I use them all the time on cabinet doors, toy chests ect. Plus I think it would be leave a lesser impact on the surrounding surfaces.

    Reply
  5. That lamp is fabulous – who would have thought! Good luck on the pantry (mine could use some serious organization) and that door!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Organizador de escritorio |

Leave a Reply

