RSS Feed

To Blog or Not to Blog

To Blog or not to blog

That is the question.

OK, I didn’t mean to take a week off from blogging.  It’s just……I just could not come up with anything interesting to say.

The advice you always hear about blogging is that you must be consistent.

Blog regularly and often.

Which all sounds good except…..when you have nothing to say.

I spent my week working on some new, custom HOME signs including Saint Louis!And, I’d been invited to do a kind of exclusive show so it was time for my usual mad prep.  And I just felt silly announcing to the world “I made more coasters!”

So, in that circumstance is it better to keep quiet or should you come up with something/anything to talk about?  What do you think?

But I’m back and had a fun weekend.

The show was at an exclusive club called SoHo House.  There are SoHo houses in NYC and London etc etc and they are quite, quite posh.

I wanted to have a good variety of things to display so I came up with some new designs for my candle blocksYes, I can hear you thinking “New blocks!  David!  Way to really stretch your creativity!

But they are so versatile and fun to work on!

I also got some new magnets in there.My magnets are, basically, tiny versions of my coasters.  I started making them because people kept either A) thinking the coasters were magnets or B) saying “these are great but I don’t need/use coasters.”

When my niece saw these she blurted out, “did you make these?  They look so…real.”

I assured her that they were, in fact, “real” and that I wasn’t sure whether I should be complimented or offended.

She explained that what she meant was that the packaging looked like something you’d find in a “real” store and she was having trouble believing it came from me.

I explained that I still wasn’t sure whether to be complimented or offended.

The show was great though.

The club is in the Penthouse of a high rise in West Hollywood and they set us up in the roof garden with sweeping 360 degree views of the city.  It is just staggeringly beautiful and I confess I felt a little ghetto with my pegboard displays and not-ironed tablecloths.  But, happily, the beautiful people in their beautiful room didn’t seem to mind and it was a terrific afternoon.

I’d show pics but they have strict rules.  No cameras.  You can’t even use your cell phone to make a call!  There was an “official” photographer though so we’ll see what he came up with.

I have projects in mind for this week however so stay tuned for consistent blogging!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

10 responses »

  1. I can totally relate… I am revamping my blog for the Fall, again.
    My new version will be about the things and places I like. Food I like to make and of course tie
    it all in will illustration? Yeah, who am I kidding… wish me luck! Your doing fine David, your blogs are fun to read… Just do it when you can???

    Best of luck to you!

    Reply
    • Thanks Walter. I look forward to seeing your revamp and, of course, keeping up with your illustrations of food you like (see how I tied it all together there? You can be like the blog version of Cooks Illustrated).

      Reply
  2. Poor you, in a Penthouse in West Hollywood.
    My last show was in front of a barn in the sticks of Northern Ontario.
    You don’t need to blog everyday, ’cause then you’d be telling us something like what socks you wore that day.

    Reply
  3. Those candles are adorbies! I love how you put the paper on first and THEN distressed. Cute!

    Regarding not blogging – I have that issue sometimes too! You know what has REALLY helped me, is keeping a note (I use evernote so it syncs with my phone) where I quickly jot down blog post ideas/topics RIGHT when I think of one, then later when I’m out of ideas I just browse my lil list. So far it’s helped!

    I love your blog & all your work 😀

    Reply
  4. David, Keep on blogging no matter what the subject. You could recite the phone book and make it amusing.
    Nicki

    Reply
  5. I was wondering if you are planning on doing a tut on your magnets or maybe you did and I just missed it…. its been one of those days. Anywho, I am really enjoying your blog and I did my very first Craft Show last month and seeing your set up is a BIG help to me. THanks for sharing all your tips and tricks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

