RSS Feed

On Being a Renegade!

I’m happy to report that my very first Renegade Show was a complete success!

I confess, though not superstitious really, I was taken aback when I realized my booth number was 13.

I decided to think of it a Lucky Booth 12B and I was right.

Set up on Saturday went smoothly and my new(ish) displays worked exactly how I wanted them to.  I designed them to be modular so I could re-arrange them to suit the situation.  You’ll recall at Unique LA they were two towersAt Renegade, for an enclosed booth space I set them up accordion style along the walls (please forgive the lousy camera phone photos).The first day was slow buying-wise although I did a brisk business in handing out business cards.

However, a reporter for the LA Times came around and liked my work.  I’m quite honored that he chose to feature my stuff (OK, “featured” is kind of a strong word) in his Top Picks on the LA Times Home and Garden Blog!

Day two was terrific!  And Lucky Booth 12B was busy all day.  The heat was pretty intense which made me want to nap but apparently made my fellow Angelenos want to shop.  And shop they did!

In short it was a great way to end a summer season of shows and now it’s time to get ready for the holidays!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. WOW!!! You are too modest…what a great feature. Big things are ahead for you…I just know it.

    Reply
  2. Love the set up,and I too see things in your future…I know you said blogging some times your so busyyyyy…Put do you ever do link parties…I could see a few of your things popping up and have you done pintrest….I have seen that stats on how people find your site.Pinning has been growing by leaps and is taking over Facebook…now I say that….but I need to do it tooo…but wow….the house coasters I have to do this for my sis( and you did hit the Brother Jackpot when you did these for your family)

    Reply
  3. Congrats on a good show and the feature in L.A.Times. “Feature” is not a strong word… own it! Your stuff is great and very original!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

