RSS Feed

A Little Experiment

So, I’m wondering if a couple of you could help me out.

A few years ago I thought it would be fun to make Christmas gifts for my family and, unsurprisingly, I made coasters (they never saw it coming!).

I decided to celebrate our family’s vast real estate empire by creating floor plans of all of the various houses from our past – my folks place, our grandparents homes, the house my mom and dad built when they were first married etc etc.

I wanted them all to be a bit different so I created different backgrounds etc and they came out looking like this:Happily they were a hit!  I made my sister cry! (as a little brother if you make your sister cry and you haven’t kicked her or read her diary you have achieved Little Brother Super Stardom!)Since then all family members have reported much admiration of the coasters from visitors.And it has been suggested to me that I should try to add these to my Etsy store.Now, clearly, the world is not crying out for floor plans of my parent’s home.  But when I tried to think through what the process would be for doing custom orders for people my mind boggled a little.

  • Would people be OK sending me a sketch
  • How much explaining would I need to do to get the idea across
  • How many options would I need to offer
  • How long would it take
  • etc etc etc and on and on

So, this is where you come in.

I would like to use a couple of you as guinea pigs.

You would have to be very patient guinea pigs.

I’m trying to figure out the best, most efficient way to create these coasters for people that would leave them satisfied and wouldn’t leave me buried under millions of hours of Photoshop work.To do the project for my family I had to create floor plans of homes I’d never set foot in but the sketches were made by my dad who, as we know, can be a tad on the precise side.  What I need to know is if I can take something like this:And create a viable design.

So, would two of you be willing to join me on this journey of coaster discovery?

You would, of course, end up with a set of customized coasters at the end as payment for your patience.  I figure I need two “potential” folks to work with.  I guess to be fair it should be the first two to respond to this post.

Thanks in advance!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

26 responses »

  1. DAVID…these are BRILLIANT!!! I call dibs on being your agent. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I would love to try this out with you, and I’ll be as patient as you like.

    Reply
    • Awesome! Thank you very much!

      Reply
      • So excited! And you know what, I think I have a sort of ‘test’ we can try out to see how well this worked – I’m pretty sure I know where the blueprints to my parents’ house are, so after fumbling through this process, we can see how close we came.

  3. I’m in!!!!! I love this idea….. and of course when the experiment is over I will shamelessly promote to everyone I know!!!!

    Reply
  4. Jenniffer Dorsett

    Aww…darn I wasn’t fast enough. Anyway, I think this is great idea. When I saw your original post I immediately wanted to make some for my parents.

    Reply
  5. I would love to be part of this! Especially since the reward is your work! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Deirdre Barnett

    This is a great gift idea for real estate agents/builders to give to their clients at closing!

    Reply
  7. Well, it looks like you have more than two, but I would LOVE to work on these with yo! As a family we designed and helped to build our own home, so these are an especially cool idea to me! If you want me to patiently help you, count me in!!
    dexterdays-sdk.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Hi Sharon. I do have more than two. And I really do apologize for how badly I set this up. I will, once I get the process down, offer a discount as my apology for being a dope.

      Reply
  8. Wonderful idea….

    Reply
  9. scrapgirl1467

    I realize I am WAY tool ate to be able to get in on doing this with you, but I still wanted to comment and let you know I think this is a fabulous idea and I hope you are able to make it work! Please keep us posted because I know I would love to have some thing like this! Thanks for letting us know and showing us the ones you made for your own family.

    BTW, loved your line about being a good little brother if you could make your sister cry without having kicked her in the shins, etc. . . SO TRUE! 🙂

    Reply
  10. My BF and I have just purchased a house in Seattle. We close on August 25th and I have already drafted the 1st floor on CAD. I would be happy to forward the drawing to you to experiment with. You have also given me a great idea! Thanks!

    Reply
  11. Well as the old saying goes, “If you snooze, you loose” really comes true on this one. This is just what I would have LOVED to be a part of,…….but, handmade wedding decorations for my daughter’s wedding are my priority now so, I look forward to seeing what you and your team come up with!

    Suzanne

    Reply
  12. Just found you and I’m sure I am way to late to be your guinnea pig. lol! I think it’s a great idea and will sale easily. Hopped over from Maple and Magnolia. I can tell that you are very talented.
    Jann

    Reply
  13. I think this is a fabulous idea, but perhaps much more difficult that you might imagine. Not meaning to be negative, but I do understand the work that goes into designing something on the computer and have spent at least an hour on a simple sign. there are so many different sizes and combinations it could get very time consuming. I would suggest some type of graph paper type base with squares and names of rooms you can drag from the side. I’m sure you already got that far without me anyway! Proceed David!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

