RSS Feed

Unique LA Summer Show Follies

I needed a recovery day.

Unique LA was really awesome and just a weee bit exhausting.

Why would standing there selling things for two days be exhausting?” You may ask.

Well, it wasn’t the “standing there” part – it was the mad, crazy dash to get to the “standing there” part.

In my vast wisdom I decided that with two shows in a row, a huge wholesale order due and numerous Etsy orders due that  NOW would be the ideal time to create a totally new look!  Now would be the time to build new displays.  Now would be the time for new signs, new selling methods!

Now” also turned out to be the time to have a small, nervous breakdown.

The Friday before the show was filled with six, yes six, “last minute” trips to Home Depot.  I’m not sure how one can have six “last” trips….it seems like after the first last trip you’re into last trip overtime and a new phrase needs to be coined.

And Saturday, the day of the show, included yet another Home Depot trip

(I’m losing your sympathy aren’t I?  You’re thinking to yourself “dude, make a freakin’ list!”  I had lists!  I swear!  I just didn’t anticipate broken and/or missing drill bits, peg board holes that were a different size than all other peg board holes in the known universe and a sudden, distinct lack of glue among other things).

But everything got set up – more or less – and I was pleased…..more-or-less.

I had a primo corner spot right near the entrance and created two towers to display coasters, HOME signs and letters.

I know….  Green!  What a surprise that is for all of us.  Who could have foreseen this choice on my part?! (also they aren’t quite as GREEN!!!!! as they look in these pictures and the tablecloth in the back looks more matchy in reality.  Nor was the world slightly blurry that day)

They were also supposed to display magents!  If I hadn’t accidentally left them at home……..

I had a slightly modified display for coaster packs and candle blocks

And added a shelf for trays and such.

The folks attending were great (I even met a blog reader who stopped by to say “hi” – how cool is that?!).  I love that so many people are up for buying original designs made locally.

Sales were brisk – I actually sold out of several things on the first day.

Good problems!

Bad problems?

  • Coming up , on the second day with a nifty new way to display HOME signs that looked swell until they fell and I broke two letters.
  • Discovering that the subway signs were selling fast

and that people were waaay into the idea of customizing them.  So, in a true Wylie E. Coyote Super Genius moment I raced home Saturday night and came up with this!

And in an equally Wylie E Coyote move…..forgot to bring it with me on Sunday.

But, bottom line.  Sales were sold.  Lessons were learned and the hungry maw of Home Depot was fed.

And now it’s time for Renegade!

Mark your calendars!  Come on by!…….. See what I forget to bring! (we can totally turn this into a drinking game!)

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. David, slow down! Get yourself an intern! Your items are displayed so nice!
    Cheltham Road Rules! Super Fun Stuff!

    Reply
  2. Walter do you mean to imply that, perhaps, caffeine is not my friend? (I think you may be right). Interns! love it!

    Reply
  3. Ok, who is nthe mystery person in the chair crouching down behind your display? Which, by the way, looks AMAZING!!!!!! The display that is.
    Nicki

    Reply
  4. Thoroughly entertaining, as always! This one tickled my funny bone! 😉

    Reply
  5. I enjoy reading you as much as I enjoy seeing all of your fantastic work!!! This post makes me want to lie down and rest and I didn’t even do anything!!! hehe!!!! Also, I found this http://www.amazon.com/Ducks-Diners-Authentic-Old-Postcards/dp/B002J09ZVE at a thrift store recently and thought of you. If you would like it I’ll pop it in the mail to you. It is missing 4 of the post cards, just so you know. But it reminded me of things that you do so I took a chance that you might be able to make use of it!! 🙂 Let me know!! It was only 50 cents so no regrets!!! 😀

    Reply
  6. David, you have tired me out just reading your post. I completely get what you are saying as I am currently in “the mad, crazy dash to get to the ‘standing there’ part” for a big two day weekend show. Now I’m worried I need new display racks since yours look so beautiful!

    Reply
  7. I love your work, all your efforts,time and creativity…Best of luck on the next show..and all I can say is, weather it’s your phone or a notepad.Write down what you want to take and put it in the truck once your done with it….I have done the same thing left something laying right by the door and run out the door and forgot…Dern….so…now I put it in the car,no matter how late.
    Cool stuff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

