RSS Feed

Why-O-Why-O-Why-O

-Did-I-Ever-Leave-Ohio?

Well, technically it’s not my fault I left Ohio – my family moved and, being 11, I thought it prudent to stay close to the pack.

And, of course, they lied to me.

They told me we were moving to California (true!) home of Disneyland (true).  I was on board because close proximity to Disneyland would help me achieve my, then, life-goal of being a Mousketeer.

The fact that we were moving to Northern California – 300+ miles from the Magic Kingdom and that the Mickey Mouse Club had gone off the air before I was born and probably wasn’t going to be revived just for me….. was not made clear to me.

OK, so I guess they didn’t “lie” so much as not point out the minor flaws in my thinking.  But I feel that is, if not lying, then it’s at least lie-adjacent.

You may call me “slow” but I prefer to think of myself as a “geographically challenged optimist.”

Bottom line – I left Ohio (partially of my own will) and my life-goal has not yet been fulfilled.  And now, although I am happy with where I live,  whenever I visit Ohio I’m reminded of what a great place it is.

So, I’m back from my trip back home!  Family! Antiquing! and, of course, ICE CREAM!

Columbus is a major “test market” – I guess because it’s kind of smack dab in the middle of things.    New food products, new restaurants, new technology – a lot of it gets tested in Columbus which explains why I tend to think of Ohio as “the source of all things.”

So I went back with a mission (I mean other than to celebrate my dad’s 90th and generally hang out with my family).  I was hunting for things.  And I found them.

First up –  Hobby Lobby.To some of you that may not seem that amazing but there are no Hobby Lobbys in Los Angeles and somehow, no matter what it is I’m lacking Hobby Lobby probably has it.

And then my sister Paula took me out to seek vintage graphics and anitques and we ended up at a huge antique mall called, appropriately “Heart of Ohio.”I say huge and I mean it.

Paula and I arrived at 9:30AM.  The next time I checked my watch it was 1:00 and we were about halfway through the building.  We weren’t moving slowly – it’s just that vast! We left at 4 and I had found some great stuff and a lot of things I didn’t even know I was looking for.

More vintage postcard folders, dairy cap labels, tickets, an old car catalog and on and on…..

And Paula added to my vintage camera collection by buying me this!

It may look like a rather unassuming old camera but check it out

It’s a Transformer!

The front pops out and the top pops open and it is, totally cool!

(I honestly hadn’t realized I had an antique camera collection until about one camera ago – but apparently it’s my thing now)

OK, gotta go get to work.  Things have been crazy busy at Etsy and I have the next big Patchwork show coming up this Sunday!

Lot’s more to share about Ohio in the coming week.  And, the long awaited, long delayed reveal of my attempt at creating a workspace for myself.

Also I just realized that yesterday was my one year Blog-Aversary!  And I wanted to say thank you so much to all of you who have read and commented and made me feel so very welcome in the blogosphere!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

13 responses »

  1. I agree, the midwest rocks! Happy blog-aversary!

    Reply
  2. Becki Foster

    So glad to hear the great comments about Ohio! The antique capital is in Waynesville – next time you’re in Ohio it’s a great town to visit! Looking forward to seeing what you do with your finds!

    Reply
    • Becki, Waynesville was totally on the to-see list but I think I burned out my “oh look something neat” reflex while wandering around Heart of Ohio. Next time I go home it’s Waynesville all the way!

      Reply
  3. Too funny. I just visited Ohio for the first time for my best friends wedding earlier this year and we went to The Heart of Ohio—you could spend days in that place and still never really see everything they have to offer! Don’t feel bad… we just got a Hobby Lobby here in Florida last year–I totally understand your excitement! 🙂

    Reply
  4. There is a Hob Lob that just opened in Laguna Niguel!!! Come visit the OC, it’s not that far!!!

    Reply
  5. You’re back. WooHoo!!!!! My day just got brighter. Great clock “collection” but be careful they sneak up on you..three of anythings makes a collection. Just ask me about rhinestone clocks, pin money banks, old oil cans, silver vases, loving cups and trophys. But I digress. Oh, FYI, there is a Hobby Lobby in Rancho Cucamonga.
    Nicki

    Reply
  6. There’s a Hobby Lobby in Rancho Cucamonga?!?!?! I lived in Wrightwood for years and never knew that. Dismayingly (is that a word) there are none in the Eugene, Orygun area. Happy First Year. I’ve enjoyed the blog and the only issue I have is that you seem to have a non-blog life and we don’t get to “see” you every day.

    Reply
  7. Welcombe back! I’m totally drooling over that camera.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

