RSS Feed

….and then the dog peed in front of my booth.

“do you want to pet the puppy?!!”

 But lets back up a bit

 SEVERAL HOURS EARLIER: SATURDAY

I was tired from a few too many late nights of finishing up projects but feeling pretty good.

My Unique LA booth was all set up and looking great. I’d scored a perfect spot right on the corner and the traffic was excellent.  I had lots of repeat customers and even met the lovely Jenny of Please Note who was visiting with her mom.

And then

 “Do you want to pet the puppy?”

Both the toddler and the puppy in question looked dubious about this plan but with adequate adult encouragement they warily set about making contact with one another.  They were just in front of my table and a little to the left.  Much tail wagging and toddler-giggling ensued and I, along with everyone else nearby were totally caught up in the general adorableness of the whole scenario.

After a little petting both dog and toddler went their separate ways to pursue their separate shopping needs and I went back to standing behind my table.

And that’s when the woman from across the way came over and said:

“you know the dog peed right in front there, right?”

I did not know that.

I also did not know what to do.  This was an indoor event on concrete floors.  It wasn’t something you could just let slide really.

I had numerous supplies with me for (I thought) all of my needs: extra pens? Check! Granola bars? Check! Masking tape, tape measure, glue, notebook?  Check, check, check and check!

Stuff to clean up dog pee…..not so much.

So I asked my neighbor to watch my space and high-tailed it to the powers-that-be to tell them of my plight.  They were sympathetic!  They called janitorial services!  I went back to my spot and every subsequent conversation went like this:

Prospective Customer: I LOVE your stuff!

Me: Thanks!  Watch out for the dog pee

Prospective Customer: Ewwwww!!!!!!!

 And that distraction usually proved just enough to send them on their way.

But, eventually the Spot’s spot was removed and all-in-all it was a great but exhausting weekend.

Sales were terrific at Unique LA and the fun atmosphere they create there is really a pleasure.

Sale were OK for my Rose Bowl swan song.  But I think I’m glad to be done with it.  Some guy offered $50 for my Shakespeare Table and seemed offended when I didn’t leap at the chance.   But remind me not to try to do two shows on the same day.

Bottom line I couldn’t have done it at all without the invaluable help of a bunch of people.

First there is Suzanne who dutifully took on the boring job of cutting strips of bubble wrap so that I could get things in the mail quickly.

Then the amazing Alec took over the entire Rose Bowl operation when I  had to leave (this included standing there all day, then reloading the truck, unloading the truck and returning the truck).

Speaking of the truck there is Karla who spent part of her week cutting coaster paper, and then part of her weekend helping me pick up the truck then helping Alec unload and return the truck.

And last but not least Geralyn who, although she had never been behind the counter opened the Unique LA booth on her own on Sunday and stayed until I could get there (and even managed to re-arrange the displays to much better advantage!).

I should probably stop professing my amazement at how great the people around me are and just learn to accept it but, what can I say, they continue to blow me away.

OK, now it’s a week of restocking and rethinking because this Sunday is my firt Patchwork Show in Long Beach.  If anyone is local to that part of SoCal please do stop on by!Patchwork Indie Craft Fair Long Beach

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. Oh David,
    Your posts never fail to evoke a smile, chuckle or down right laugh from me. Not matter how tired, busy, cranky ect. I am. And i am grateful. If this “craft thing” doesn’t work out maybe you should look into a writing career.
    Nicki

    Reply
  2. scrapgirl1467

    And I thought I was the only one things like this happened to! Glad you didn’t lose too many sales over it and that management got it cleaned up for you. I don’t blame you for taking offense at a $50 offer on that beautiful Shakespeare table! I wish I lived out your way, I would love to come to see your stuff, maybe someday you will travel to an East Coast show? We would love to see you!

    I agree with your other commenter BTW, you have mad writing skills, and I write! 🙂

    Have a great day and spoil that team who worked so hard for you this weekend!

    Reply
    • I would so love to go back east! I miss that side of the country every day pretty much. And yes, I made the team a strawberry rhubarb crumble last night with more such things to come (you know I love them if I’m sharing pie-like desserts with them). Thanks so much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

