RSS Feed

Unique LA!… And I think I may have created something I like by accident

This weekend is Unique LA!  If anyone within the sound of my voice (meaning LA) is around this weekend please do come and check it out and stop by and say “Hi!”  It would be great to meet some of you and the Unique Shows are always a lot of fun.  Pie!  Crafts! Handmade Items!  Pie! Jewelry, Pie!  (serioulsy, there are three (THREE!!!!) pie places selling their wares!)

Plus Caine and his Arcade will be there.  If you haven’t heard about Cain or seen the video please do yourself a favor and watch it.  It is one of the most touching, soul affirming things I’ve seen in quite a while.

But enough about awesome children on to ME!

So, as you may know I make these tealight holders using the  vintage images that I love so muchFrench ABC blocks tea light holdersWood Typography Votive HoldersWood Tea Light Holders Vintage Bingo CardsWell, the other day, as I am want to do, I totally screwed up on one of them.  Rather than pitching it I decided to just sand off the image and start all over again.  But, it wasn’t as easy to sand the image off as I thought and about midway through I looked at it and thought “hey, that’s kinda cool looking.”

It wasn’t very useful as an image anymore (I sanded off a woman’s face which isn’t very nice) but my brain started percolating.

I probably should have been a graphic designer – I get really into coming up with designs for the paper I use on my lettersVintage Wallpaper Wood LettersSo, I thought, why not use some of that paper on the blocks and then sand it down a little.  I gave it a shot and I think I really dig it.Wood Votive Holders Shabby Chic

Vintage Wallpaper Tea Light holdersWhat do you all think?  I figure they could come in any number of colors and styles of paper.

OK, must dash to go set up Unique LA. I’m excited about the weekend and hope to see some of you there.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. These are awesome!!! I love that style!

    Reply
  2. Love the faded and worn look a lot. Good luck at Unique and also rose Bowl.
    Nicki

    Reply
  3. I really like the new look with the vintage papers. You’ll attract a whole new group of buyers for your tealight holders. Isn’t it so satisfying when you make a mistake and it turns out great? And then you can just tell people, “It was a design decision”.

    Reply
  4. Becki Foster

    Love the new tea light patterns! The blue one is mine!

    Reply
  5. they look great!

    Reply
  6. Oh my! These are fabulous! You take great pictures of your work, too! Very fun!

    We would LOVE for you to stop over and link up this awesome idea in our Crafty Saturday Showcase. The Showcase runs Saturday through Thursday. Then our Designers will pick their top linked up picks and feature them on Friday! Stop over and join in the fun! We have a linky for crafty bloggers and ETSY/Business Bloggers!

    Have a great weekend,
    Susie
    http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/05/26/saturday-showcase-craft-projects-3/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,335 other followers

