RSS Feed

Life’s a Beach

Well, that was quite a pause.  Sorry about that.

I’ve made myself a bit nuts by being a bit dim witted.  It’s how I roll.

Here’s what happened.

The Spring Unique LA show conflicted with the May Rose Bowl.  So I didn’t apply for a spot at Unique.

Then I lost my Rose Bowl space (boo!).

But then my neighbors sold me their spot for this month (yay!).

But then, for some reason, I asked the Unique Folks if they ever had cancellations (assuming they never did).  And they did (yay!)

And I said I’d take it (yay!)

…….And then I realized that Unique LA and the Rose bowl were (and I’m sure you’ve put this together already) ON THE SAME DAY (ack!)  which, of course, I knew earlier in this story but had somehow forgotten because I am a certified genius (yay!)

Sooooooo, that’s two spaces to fill and two places to be on the same day.  No prob!

I’ve been busy working away and trying to come up with new things.

I’ve long planned a Beach sign similar to my HOME signs.Vintage San Francisco Wood Home SignHandmade Wood HOME sign featuring Columbus Ohiovintage Chicago Wood HOME sign Do you folks ever make something, really like it and then find that you just can’t get a good picture of it?

I’ve always been pretty challenged to take a good picture of the HOME signs but I didn’t know “challenge” until I added two more letters.

I tried just a plain white background for that classic feelHandmade Wood Sign: Beach

 Nope!

I tried props for that vintagy, beachy, vacation feelBeach Sign

 I’m sorry, what does that spell?  And exactly how dirty is your “charming” prop suitcase?

Nope!

 I tried it against a blue wall – for that blue sky/beach feel

 Nope!

 I tried it against a beige wall – you know, for that beachy feel

 Nope!

 Finally, I tried it near a door for that, “on your way to the next room think about the beach” feel

 Nope!

I think next I’ll try for that “on your way to take a class in how to do photography” feel.

But for the moment one of these will have to do because I have a lot of work to get done in the next few days (and that cloning experiment to undertake – please keep your fingers crossed).

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. Oh, David…sorry to laugh at your mishaps, but they are just so dang funny the way you tell them! BTW, the beach sign is fantabulous. Good luck with the cloning experiment…hope the cloned David is as wacky as the original! 😉

    Reply
  2. Love your BEACH letters, I think the best shot is the last one where they are vertical, but all are good. You are far too hard on yourself!

    Reply
  3. gertrude1959

    You had me laughing out loud! Your BEACH letters turned out great!

    Reply
  4. Love your Beach letters, your very talented! My favorite is the photo with the suitcase… that vintage style really does it justice.

    Reply
    • Thank you Rachael – I truly appreciate it. I may try that shot again…you know, without the chair on it’s side in the background and perhaps after I cleaned the suitcase a little better.

      Reply
      • I love the effect, thought there was a towel over a fancy rack in the bg. the “dirty” suitcase looks well traveled and perfect. I’d love to know where you got the images so I can super-steal this idea!!

      • Thanks Sherry! The images are mostly from vintage postcards I’ve collected over the years. I find them at antique malls and flea markets usually for a couple of dollars at most. Once you scan them in you can resize them to fit your letters.

  5. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co.

    Well I think your letters look great in every shot! I love them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

