RSS Feed

Lets Spice Things Up

my kitchen goes from tragic to retroMy Kitchen Tour post got some very nice attention and I got a few questions about those spice jars and canisters so I thought I’d get into some more details.Ikea Kitchen Cannisters go Retro

You may (or may not – I really wouldn’t blame you) recall that the large canisters are inexpensive Ikea purchases.  It was a simple matter of  spray painting the lids and creating the labels in MS Word.

I had shared the printable download for the labels previously and you can find it here if you’re so inclined.

The glass spice jars are from Griffith Laboratories and were made around 1939.  The company made the jars as a kind of advertising gimmick but they became very popular.  They were sold with various holders (wood and plastic) and the lids came in various colors to suit the current styles.The first jars had a baked on graphic for the label and in the following years the company switched to paper labels.

I had purchased a set with the baked on labels years ago but it’s pretty limiting as there were only, I think, 12 options.  My retro love does not extend to Celery Salt and it got really confusing to remember “oh the Celery Salt jar actually has cinnamon and the Dill Weed is really Cumin.”  Numerous, extremely unfortunate baking incidents occurred.  But the kitchen looked cool!

So when I stumbled across a set that had lost their paper labels I….went a little crazy.  It became one of those quests.  My family digs quests so everyone was looking for them wherever they went.  It was fairly affordable because the ones lacking their labels were cheaper and I didn’t care about the lid color.  Eventually I ended up with more than enough.

I cleaned and sanded the lids and then primed and painted them with a gloss red spray paint (sorry, no pics –this was quite a while ago).Griffith Spice Jar Set with DIY labels

I then recreated the label design by scanning one of my old-school jars and then erasing the spice name and inserting my own.

If you want to do the same just download this label sheet and then upload it into MSWORD.Free Label Download You can then use a Text Box (click on the pic for a larger, clearer screen shot)Format the Text Box to have no Fill Color and No Line

Then type in your desired spice name and drag the text box to center it on your label.

You may have to resize your text a bit and futz with the kerning but it’s pretty simple.  I used an Ariel Font but if you want to match exaclty play around with some of the free fonts at DaFont -I’m fond of Sugo myself.

Print a test sheet to make sure the size works for your jars and then print a final version out onto decal paper and cut them out.

And now I must go outside (it’s beautiful!) and cut HOME signs.

David

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

21 responses »

  1. kirbycarespodi

    Of course these are awesome (as usual)…but my burning question is what kind of stove is that? Is it dual oven/dual fuel? And if so, how do you like it?

    Reply
  2. kirbycarespodi

    Of course these are awesome. But my burning questoin is: what kind of stove is that? Is it dual oven/dual fuel? Do you like it?? I need a new stove and want one like that!

    Reply
    • Hey,
      It’s a Maytag Gemeni and I’m quite pleased with it. It has two separate gas ovens that heat independently. It’s terrific if you’re trying to make multiple things. I have only two complaints about it. The knobs for the burners aren’t logically arranged to me – I keep turning on the wrong one. And for some reason the upper (smaller) oven heats more slowly that the bottom (larger) oven. But those are minor quibbles – overall I think it’s great.

      Reply
  3. Your kitchen is lovely. Those canisters (and the scale) are great!

    Reply
  4. This could not have come at a better time since I just scored 11 (I know, maybe number 12 broke) of these fabulous bottles at a yard sale. They have the paper labels – but many are peeling and your labels are fabulous!

    The best part (sense my sarcasm?) – the 70 year old spices were still in them.

    And the lady of the house was very inventive – she actually made little typed labels and pasted them over the useless spices (like celery salt)!

    Some of my labels have the attached perforated sifter in them – and I can’t get them out! Any ideas?
    Kelly

    Reply
  5. modpodgerocks

    These labels are awesome! Love them!

    Reply
  6. Love the jar makeover… the labels are too cool!

    Reply
  7. Oh my livin’ heck. I am SO IN LOVE with this kitchen!!! I may or may not be pinning it to my “Dream Kitchens” Pinterest board…
    PS. I’m your newest subscriber. Love the blog!

    Reply
  8. I, too, got all the old spices in the jars. I am thinking seriously thinking about dumping them and refilling them with fresh ones. What is recommended?

    Reply
    • Hmmmmm…I guess it depends on what you cook. I had a lot of jars so I did pretty much everything I could think of. But the ones I use most (though clearly not in the same meal) are cinnamon, garlic powder, basil, chili powder, paprika, nutmeg.

      Reply
  9. Thank you so much for sharing so generously

    Reply
  10. Thank you, thank you for the Griffith’s label scan. My newly-arrived set came with paper labels overlaid with shiny 70′s labels – desperately needing the update to things I actually use (I’m willing carry the vintage only so far).

    Reply
  11. Thank you for sharing the labels and “how to” advice. I am off to the craft store for paint for the lids of my newly acquired Griffith jars and to track down decal paper..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,332 other followers

