RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Dad!

Yesterday was my dad’s 90th birthday!!

I called in the morning and my mom said he was already in the workshop repairing a pie safe for someone in the community where they live.

So, as may be obvious he (and his full head of hair) are still going strong.  I’ve shared his lazy susan’s in the past and there are more to come I’m told

And since it was my birthday recently I had to share the present my sister Paula MADE for me!

You could tell she was excited about this because her birthday actually precedes mine by a couple of weeks and usually, (based on years and years of experience) she holds my birthday gift for ransom until I send her gift to her.

But not this year!  Nope, this year she sent mine out despite the fact that hers had not yet been…um…found mailed.   (I found it though!….I haven’t mailed it but I found it!)

Some back-story:

I have an ipad.  I have kind of a love/hate relationship with it.  I recognize it’s amazingness but I just cannot get in the habit of using it.  It just seems like a really big iphone that isn’t actually a phone or a really small computer that isn’t actually a computer.  And I feel awkward carrying it around.

I told Paula of my woes and she came up with this!Handmade Soft Travel Case

It’s perfect!  It’s even monogrammed!

Nicely lined to protect the preciousLined Ipad Travel CaseIt fits in the inside and outside pocket as do a lot of other things (like notebooks or keys) so I have everything in one spot.Fully lined Ipad travel case

I’m a lucky brother.

I should probably mail her gift to her now.

Of course Phebe’s birthday comes after mine and she, trusting soul, sent me some really clever tools to use on my trays but, like Paula, hers has not yet been foundmailed …made itself known to me*.

And keeping with the family theme I finally finished up my Celebrate Ohio Coaster Set.  Columbus, Toledo, Cincinnati and Cleveland.

Celebrate Ohio Coaster SetVintage Postcard Set Columbus OhioCoaster Set featuring Vintage Columbus, Cincinnati, Cleveland and Toledo OhioI just really dig these postcard folder graphics (do the photos look slightly blurry here?  they don’t elsewhere….odd).  My goal is to get a set for every state – two down, 48 to go.  No  prob!

So Happy Birthday Dad!  Thank you Paula! and Sorry Phebe!

*as I mentioned i n a previous post I either know exactly what to get you for a gift and it’s awesome or I have no idea whatsoever at all.  There is no inbetween unfortunately

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. A very Happy-pre/belated-bithday to you and your amazing,quirky and talented family. You are so lucky to have each other. If everyone had a family like your’s, the world would be a better place. Or at least prettier.
    Nicki

    Reply
  2. That was sweet of your sister. And how cute that she was so excited to give you the gift she made!

    Reply
  3. Oh, honey, don’t worry about missing my birthday present…the very gift of your existence is present enough…(that was verbally expressed in a sickly-sweet tone)…and aren’t those Ohio coasters truly delightful! Wouldn’t those be perfect in an Ohio living room!
    Phebe

    Reply
  4. What a fabulous gift – you’ll have the most stylin’ iPad around! Love the Ohio coasters (I lived there for 4 years) – love the idea of a set for every state (let me know when you get to NJ)!

    Congrats on your feature on Whisperwood Cottage today – for 20 fab white kitchens!
    Kelly

    Reply
  5. Congrats on the feature 🙂 Those images on the coasters are amazing! I love how they are so Mad Men!

    Have a great day rock star!
    karianne

    Reply
  6. I love the coasters! This Paula wants to know when you get to MN!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

