RSS Feed

Gone with the Wind

My friend Nicki recently made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  She offered to share her space at the Ventura Market with me so I could check out the venue.  It was very generous of her which, of course, made me like her more.

The day before was all cold and rain in Los Angeles but Sunday was clear and beautiful.

But although it was clear and beautiful it was also windy.

Super windy.

“Severe Winds” weather report windy.

Nicky and her husband had set up a tent but left the top off for fear of it flying away.  I saw the wisdom of their plan and, of course, did the opposite.  Up went my tent.   Up blew the wind.  And poor Nicky ended up dividing her time between her customers and helping stupid me, literally, hold my tent on the ground.

Eventually, I had to take it down as it was proving more dangerous than sun-sheltering.

Despite the bluster the customers were out in force.

They swarmed Nicki’s area (which of course made me like her less) but she kept telling everyone she knew to “check out my friend David’s stuff!” (which made me like her more).

She sold almost everything she brought (like her less) but now she’s kinda screwed because she has two upcoming shows and a lot less merchandise (like her more! But I guess in kind of a mean “haha” way so it probably doesn’t count).

In truth my sales were quite good too and despite the wind it was a great day if for no other reason than I got to hang out with Nicki and her husband who are terrific (like them both lots!).

And now it’s Rose Bowl build up (wasn’t I just there?) so I’ll be cramming this week getting stuff ready.

In the meantime, inspired by many of your blogs, I thought I’d start the “house tour” series.  I will be showing select areas of my home that are presentable.  Therefore this will be a brief series.

So first, the BEFORE’s.  The house was built in 1940 and was not in particularly prepossessing condition upon first viewing.

The Front

 So, not HORRIBLE looking…just in need of some trimming and planting and other odds and ends.

But…then you went inside

The Kitchen

Mind you, this was how it was being shown.  This was the “cleaned up for viewing” version

The back hallway

(it had been carpeted but the dog had peed all over everything so they had removed the carpet.  Much better don’t you think?  There is a fan just out of frame – you know – to blow away the bad smell.  Thoughtful.)

And my favorite part.

The Shower

For some reason this place had been on the market for a while.

More to come!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. Their realtor should be shot….

    Reply
  2. Hope you got a bargain price. Lots of work to be done there.

    But, you’re just the man to take a real lemon, and make delicious lemonade.

    I bet it looks just wonderful now, and people are begging you to sell it to them.

    Can’t wait for the next installment on your home tour.

    Reply
  3. It always amazes me how some houses look while on the market! I once looked at a house that had a dirty diaper soaking in the toilet – I looked at my realtor and said “I’m done here!” Looking forward to your “after” pix.

    Reply
  4. Thank you for your kind comments. It was a fun day despite the wind.
    Even in it’s before pictures, your house looks adorable.
    Nicki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

