RSS Feed

Look what I found! And Amazing Friends!

Thanks very much for all the support about my Rose Bowl report  – I so appreciate it.

Before I move on from the Rose Bowl though I just have to marvel again at the friends that surround me.

I was, as usual, running behind for RB so Karla spent a good chunk of her Friday night sitting patiently gluing backs on coasters and cutting out wrappers.   Nice!  Then she drove me to get the van on Saturday.  Very nice!  THEN she made post Rose Bowl dinner for me.  Incredibly nice!

But even Karla – who we’ve already established is “Incredibly Nice” – bows down before Ken’s good – friendness.

Ken is a terrific, professional photographer and when I was first getting going photography was my big hang up.  Ken agreed to take some shots to get me started.   Well, he didn’t just plop them on a table he spent days working on them and came up with these:

Have coasters ever looked so upscale before or since?  I think not!

Ken is also the reason I have one of my retail outlets as he talked me up to the owner.

So, clearly Ken is awesome, and then a few weeks ago he offered to help with Rose Bowl.

  •  Me:  You don’t want to do that – it means getting up super early and standing in a parking lot all day.
  • Ken: That’s fine

I wondered if he was high or something.

As the date approached I checked in.

  •  Me: Ken, it means getting to my house at 5:15AM
  • Ken:  OK – see you then.

He was clearly high again.

Then, shortly thereafter when I realized that Daylight Savings Time kicked in Sunday morning I called again.

  • Me:  It’s daylight savings time so 5:15 is really 4:15
  • Ken:  OK, see you then.

And that’s when I realized my friend Ken had developed a drug problem.  So sad.  But drug-addled nut or not I wasn’t gonna say no.

And there he was at 5:15 (really 4:15) AM.   Awake, not grumpy (unlike myself) and up for anything.

And it was great to have him there!

OK, my ode to friends is over and now I have to marvel at what people throw out.  They tore down some very nice apartments near my home and have left us with an oh-so-attractive weed-filled eyesore.  On the plus side, the weed-filled eyesore has become a repository for cast off furniture.  So on Wednesday I found this solid wood coffee table, in very good shape.  And on Thursday there was this vintage vanity (bad picture, sorry) beautiful dove-tailed joints and in good conditions despite the stickers.  I can’t wait to get to work!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. Sounds like not only have you been blessded with a wonderful family you have hit the motherload on friends also.
    Good for you on finding that orphan funiture depository. Using your “like you more, like you less” scale…I think i like you less…lol. All I ever find in empty fields are tumble weeds.
    Nicki

    Reply
  2. You can never have enough friends like Ken! What a sweetheart!
    Whitney@ The Rooster and the Hen

    Reply
  3. Hey have you started on the vanity?? So funny that I came across this blog post because I just found one of these on the side of the road this morning on my run. Ran back to the house to get my truck and scooped it up. Mine has 6 drawers with dove tail jointing as well but no mirror. I’m excited to get to work on it and see what I can transform it into. Wanted to see if you have some more pics of yours and if you have moved any further with the clean up and restore.

    Reply
  4. I have just found your blog through the Nine Red blog and have been scrolling through it. I am loving what I see and wish Calfornia was right next to Georgia! I just wanted to comment on this post because I think that I have the same exact vanity. My husband and father-in-law spent hours/days stripping the layers of paint, sanding & refinishing it but now it is housed in our Master Bedroom. It is a very nice vanity and i am wondering what did you do with yours? Thanks for your time and good luck!

    Reply
    • Thanks very much Amy (Nine Red has terrific stuff). The vanity…..well, kind of a sad story. It was pretty beat up and then, while it sat in my garage, a 4×4 post fell on it and completely busted the mirror framework. It sat there for a while longer looking woebegone but when I was doing The Great Purge I had to admit it was one of those projects I was never going to get to. It was just too far gone. I started to get rid of it but it fell apart and voila! I realized it could be two bedside tables! So it’s sorta saved! Just not the way I imagined.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

