RSS Feed

Umm……..

Have you ever had a stressful week and decided to give yourself a “Monday off” and then, suddenly, somehow it’s Tuesday at 5 and you’ve eaten badly, accomplished little and seriously pushed the limits of not-flossing?

No?

Oh.

Neither have I.  I don’t even know why I brought it up-LOOK!! SOMETHING SPARKLY!!!!!!!

(image courtesy SheSitsByTheSeashore.etsy.com

……So, anyhoo, like I was saying, it was a beautiful day for the Rose Bowl.  A bit chilly at first but it warmed up and the crowds really turned out.

However there were a few bumps.

For instance, my friend Nicki, a fellow vendor, had commissioned me a few weeks ago to make some of my subway graphic signs for her – which made me like her a lot!

Nicki had promised that she would only sell the signs at the non-Rose Bowl markets she attends.  But I thought that, as long as we agreed on a sale price, there was no harm in us both having them at Rose Bowl.  So we set  a price and all was good.

However, whenever anyone picked a sign up in my booth and I told them the cost I might have well as said “It’s $X and dipped radioactive lye!” they put it down again so fast.

Nicki, however, sold two of them.

Which made me like her less.

But then she asked me to make a few more for her.

Which made me feelings towards her….complicated.

My other sales were great!  I went through a ton of coasters, tea light blocks, lots of letters and several of my magnetic chalk boards.  So, yay!

And, of course, I’d brought this

And this

And several other pieces I’ve yet to share here.

But I didn’t sell a stick of furniture.  I’m not exaggerating.  Not a stick.  No one even asked about it.  Not even a “could you do better on the price” negotiation fail.  Just…..nothing.

Now, to be fair, I’ve had days when I sold all my furniture so perhaps it was just the Universe attempting to find balance.

Or perhaps I should just give all my furniture to Nicki…….

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. or to me! We’ve had sales like that too! Bummer…it means next sale you won’t have enough furniture done. Can’t foretell what customers want sometimes…

    Reply
  2. David, Welcome to my world! I hear your pain!
    You just don’t know what people are thinking
    or what they want?

    I just put my stuff out there and HOPE that it finds a home… LOL!

    I too thought today was Monday??? Sometimes, I really don’t know what day it is and feel so unproductive… It’s all good, rather do this than work a corporate job again.

    Have a great week!

    Reply
    • You heard my pain? Was I being that loud? Embarrassing!
      You’re right, all we can do it hope (ok I do that AND whine a little).
      And I am SO WITH YOU on the “better than corporate” feelings! So happy not to be there!

      Reply
  3. It’s a real bummer you had to haul all the furniture over there….. and again all the way back.
    Don’t worry, they are great. They’ll sell at another venue.
    About those signs that your friend Nicki sold and you didn’t…. are you sure she asked the same price you did???? (yeah yeah …shame on me for even thinking this, but I’ve got a suspicious mind…)

    Reply
  4. if i dont end up making anything and feel bad. before i no it the days over then i end up staying up till 2 in the morning making something so i feel like i have something to show for the time lol. i love your signs . sorry you didnt sell any at the fair. the things you picked up are great cant wait to see what else you got xxx

    Reply
  5. I’ve had sales days or weekends like that. So discouraging. I once spent $400 on a weekend rental, carted large furniture and sold NOTHING. Don’t give up – your stuff is great!!

    Reply
    • oh Julie! Ouch! that must have hurt – I’m so sorry! And thanks so much for the encouragement – I really appreciate it
      (and seriously, no one bought your stuff? It’s great work! Fools! I tell you, Fools!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

