RSS Feed

A Rose By Any Other……

Hi!

I just have time for a quick post as I’m scrambling to get everything together and ready for tomorrow’s Rose Bowl.

I seem to be on a text kick.  Subway Art, letters etc etc.

I either know exactly what I want to do with a piece of furniture or I have no clue what to do and it has to sit in my garage for a while before inspiration strikes.

When I saw this woebegone piece in the thrift store I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it.It was in bad shape.  Wobbly legs, and ton’s of splits along the rim but I really liked the shape of the top and the curve of the legs.

So, after some serious patching and priming I got to work with my blender pen method and one of my favorite Shakespeare Sonnets and headed for the romantic side of furniture.

OK, off to sand things, staple things and general finish all the things that really should have been finished two days ago.  Wish me luck! (and, of course, if you’re local please come on by the Rose Bowl tomorrow.  It should be a beautiful day!)

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

20 responses »

  1. Ohmyohmyohmyohmy!!!!! I think this may be my favoritest table evereverever to exist!!! Wow, it’s just as lovely as can be!!! I’m going to have to pin it so I can keep staring at it….or make it my wallpaper on my computer and then proceed to never open another program ever again!! 🙂 You will sell this I have no doubt, so I hope you make more…and do this on other stuff….stuff that maybe I can buy…I’m not that far away…..:)

    I must go…..I feel faint……….

    Reply
  2. Hey! Stop fooling around on the computer and get to work…lol. The table looks amazing. Hopefully I can unchain myself from my spave and come see it in person. Good luck tomorrow!
    Nicki

    Reply
  3. Such a tease!!! Those of us in the Midwest have no chance of scoring a beautiful table like this!!! You do fabulous work! Good luck!

    Reply
  4. Ok. This is hands-down my most favorite thing you’ve ever done. It is magnificent. I want it. 😉

    Reply
  5. BEAUTIFUL !!!! wow, what a transformation. How long did that take you to write it all?

    Reply
    • Hi Renee. Thanks!
      It didn’t take long at all. I just typed it into the computer and resized it to the correct dimensions and then printed out 8.5×14″ chunks (after reversing them) and then used the blender pen to transfer it to the table. Pretty easy actually!

      Reply
  6. Wow, this looks great. If I understand correctly, you did the words by hand? Wow, very very beautiful!

    Reply
  7. That is beautiful and shows you really have an eye for what to do with an old piece. I do a lot of hand painting and I’m curious about the blender pen… where do you buy one?

    Reply
    • Thanks Julie,
      I’ve found the Blender Pens at the better Art Supply stores near me – the ones that truly focus on supplying painters etc with materials (rather than a Michaels or Joann’s type place). They may be available online as well – I haven’t’ checked – but the brand is “Chartpak” and it is actually called a “Blender” pen. Hope that helps.

      Reply
  8. that is beautiful! the icing for me is the sonnet number on the lower shelf- love that you did that!

    Reply
  9. This is stunning! The blender pen and the sonnet you chose. Just stunning!
    I would love for you to come link up at my Thrifty Under {$50} Friday party!!
    Hope to see you soon!!

    XOXO, Your newest fan,
    Rachel

    Reply
  10. This turned out beautifully. I had never heard of the blender pen but I think I need one now.
    Traci

    Reply
  11. I know this is a stupid question, but how do you reverse what you type on the computer?

    Reply
    • Hi Beth.
      Not stupid at all. I’m working in Photoshop so the words are treated like a picture (rather than as text) so all I have to do is flip it horizontally. In MSWord you could use the “Word Art” tool (click on “Insert” and then chose “Word Art”). Just like in Photoshop, MS Word treats WordArt text as an image so after you’ve typed it in and gotten it the way you want it just click on the bounding box that surrounds the text and then chose “Format” “Rotate” and “Flip Horizontal”

      I hope that helps.

      Reply
  12. This is really Beautiful, stunning! I’m not sure I understand how you did it. After you printed it out in reverse, what are the steps that follow? I would love to try this… Thanks

    Reply
  13. AWSOME!!!!!!!! MORE DETAIL ON HOW TO DO?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

