RSS Feed

To the Manor Born

Like most good Anglophiles I got completely caught up in the first season of PBS’ Downton Abbey.  Plotting, intrigue, lots of stiff-upper-lipping and excellent snark from Maggie Smith.  Awesome!

The second season proved to be a little too soap-opera-ish for my taste – (all we needed was for Lady Sybil’s evil twin to pop up and we’d have had an episode of Days of our Overpriviledged Lives.) and I had forgotten to watch the final episode until last Saturday night.

I liked the episode, went right to bed and had a Downton Abbey dream.

I was working in the kitchen (my kitchen) when Lady Mary appeared at the breakfast bar and wanted to eat some chocolate I had laid out.  She accused me of being “silly” when I tried to explain that the chocolate was an important part of a project I was working on and then she ate it!

Drama ensued.

Now, I realize there is a lot wrong with everything I have written so far but what’s really wrong is that it should be obvious to everyone (including my subconscious)  that I AM CLEARLY AN ABOVE-STAIRS KINDA GUY!!  What the hell was I doing working in the kitchen and wearing black?!

Anyway, my annoyance with Lady Mary, along with the aforementioned horror at the realization of my servant status, lead me to wake up very, very early on Sunday and, having nothing better to do, I got a LOT done!

I had been working on a new subway sign for my friend NickiI delivered it to her and managed to pick up this sweet little table along the way.

Back home I made a million coasters.

Photographed my newest HOME sign – San Francisco

And fixed, sanded and primed four pieces of furniture (cause Rose Bowl is coming next weekend).

Now, comes the hard part – figuring out what I want to do with the primed-and-ready furniture…….For two of them I know absolutely what I want to do.  The other ones?  Not so much.

I’ll keep you posted.

Meanwhile, I will be  in the library trying to figure out what a “week-end” is.  I do not wish to be disturbed.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

2 responses »

  1. David,
    You ARE CLEARLY an “upstairs” kind of guy and therefore would have NO concept of what a “week end” is or was (being downstairs in your dream).

    As for those upstairs, all days were the dreary “same old, same old”, with nothing of any consequence to bother themselves with or to do (maybe plan an elaborate dress ball or two and keep up w/local gossip). The library, with not only its floor to ceiling bookcases, but also those wonderful large windows looking out on the grounds of the estate would have been much more “you”. That’s were your creative moments would flourish!

    Of course being downstairs w/Mary would have been quite off-puting to someone of your current stature!!! And to think of giving up your chocolate that clearly was a major component of your next amazing creation!!!!! What ever could she have been thinking?!?!?

    The piece that you “picked up” is just the shade of blue that I have been looking for. Do you have any idea of what it might be since you were not the one who painted it in the 1st place?

    I am amazed a the difference in the oval topped table even though it has only been primed. Can’t wait to see all of the finished products!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

