RSS Feed

Marching Forward

I spent a decent portion of yesterday moving myself into a terrific new store that will be selling my wares.

Distinct Designers is the brainchild of Megan Sullivan.  She’s done  a great job creating a fun, friendly space and I can’t wait for the Grand Opening on Friday.  If you are an LA-local please stop by!

This is particularly great for me as they are on what is called the “West Side” and the other stores that sell me are in the Los Feliz/Silverlake area  (for those of you who don’t live here LA is vast and no one – unless they have to- goes much beyond their little section of it.  So saying my stuff is in Los Feliz but is now on the West Side is like saying “I have a store in Columbus but I’ve just opened one in Cleveland”)

And New Stuff!

I have been, in some ways, in a rut of late.  I’m happy with what I’m doing but have been feeling a bit like a factory  – churning out the same things/products.  It felt like my creative juices kinda stopped flowing.  But for some reason, over the last week or so, I’ve kicked back into gear.

Playing the sandbox lead to my Subway Graphic Signs

which I made thinking they were just a little project for Mod Podge Rocks but I’ve already got orders for 8 more which is great!

And new coaster ideas are (at last!) starting to come to me again after a long “I have no ideas” period.

As you know I’m all about the graphics and nostalgia.  I’ve been collecting those old Postcard Folders from the 30s and 40s for years because I love the fun images.  I’ve used the images from the postcards on my HOME signs but it just dawned me that the covers are equally awesome

and I thought  it would be fun to have coaster sets based on specific cities.

First up (cause it’s always first in my mind) NYC!

In the works are Ohio, San Francisco, Texas and Florida!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

3 responses »

  1. Love your work…you’re fabulous!!! Could you please make some retro-looking coasters with tiny vintage camping trailers on them. I need a set for my tiny Scotty that we are “glamping up”.

    Reply
    • Hi Julia. Thanks very much. And that’s a great idea! Let me look around and see what I can come up with.

      Reply
      • Thanks so much. Can’t wait to see what you come up with! I really think they would be a hit with others as well, since so many people are into refurbishing vintage camping trailers right now.

Leave a Reply

