RSS Feed

When Life Gives you Lemons

Well, I’m happy to say that life certainly hasn’t given me lemons.  (My backyard did though – I have a lemon tree bush that is like something from that episode of Gilligan’s Island  – it just produces tons of lemons year round.   It’s wonderful!  But I digress)

No, no lemons from life.  However, I do feel like I’ve fallen in an Etsy hole.  It seems to happen every few months.  Things are cruising along fine – sales are great, views are good, lots of activity and then WHAM!  Darkness falls and suddenly it all gets very, very quiet.

I’m getting used to the cycle however and trying to use the time wisely.    So, in this lull I’m trying to come up with new products and new ideas.

And here is where it all ties back into lemons (see what I did there?).

I love the graphics on these old, French lemon syrup labels (if you click on the pic it will take you to the Etsy listing).  In a rare moment of…something… I actually kind of like these pictures I took too.

However, I do not like that every time I need to take a picture it somehow requires me to tear apart my entire house.  I mean, seriously, we’re talking about a 3.5×3.5 inch coaster and I managed to trash the bedroom, the living room and the kitchen trying to snap a pic as I ran from room to room muttering “I’m loosing the light!!!!! I’m loosing the light!!!!!”

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. These are fantastic. You better use the quiet time to crank out loads of these, cause they are gonna be best sellers!

    Reply
  2. David, I hear your Pain!

    I find etsy slow in Feb and March!
    Photography is my biggest challenge too.
    And, my Dinning room takes a beating… That is the room that gets the best light
    only for about three hours of the day… And , some how I find myself running around the house like a chicken with its head cut off. Thank God for Photoshop were I Burn, Dodge and manipulate away!
    Try using a light tent? I bought mine on ebay for around $40.00. I can send you a link to the shop I bought from.

    I love the new coasters! And, the photography is great!
    I am using this time to catch up… Good Luck!

    Reply
  3. Really like the lemon theme! David’s idea of the light tent sounds like the fix for your daylight problem! Good luck!

    Reply
  4. Isn’t it strange how lulls fall on us every now and then. I’m in a lull at the minute, my last one was just before Christmas and then I got really busy during January, right up until a week ago. Then it’s as though someone turned the light off and it’s really quiet.

    I too am getting stock ready for the next buying spree. My paint shack needs a tidy up, but that’s taking things a bit too far:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

