RSS Feed

Unique LA Report and…I may be going crazy

Whew, I’m still a little wiped out from this weekend.

It was a crush to get everything all set for Unique LA but it turned out to be a good show.

My table was, as it often seems to be, a kind of a color and design overload as you can see: The picture came out a little muted (frightening statement I realize) but trust me – there was a lot of color in a very small space…seizure inducing color…..really gotta work on that.

The crowd was great and Sonja who is in charge of all things Unique did an amazing job.  Free food, free drinks and a great party vibe!

I even had a few people who remembered me from the Holiday Show and came back because I was sold out of whatever it was they wanted at the time.  How cool it that?!

I also acquired what I think are my favorite ever booth neighbors.  Amy (and her husband) of  Lemonbird Handmade Jams

A)     They were incredibly nice – getting me drinks etc as I was alone for this time around.  And, even more importantly:

B)      They make truly, sinfully, delicious jams and such.  Trust me, her Salted Carmel Jam is insanely good!

So, the Unique LA hurdle has been cleared and now it’s time to get back to work and get seriously organized.  You may recall a post a while ago about how I was going to get seriously organized.

It didn’t happen.

But this time it will!

Oh.  And I may be going crazy.

You see, I spend a lot of time at home alone now and I read a tip about how to get and stay organized.

The suggestion was that every time you put something down you should ask yourself “is that where that goes?”

I’m not usually a big believer in ideas like that but this one appealed and I found myself doing it.

At first it was great but after a while you realize that you’ve basically released your inner nag.

So now every time I set anything down this kind of obnoxious voice in my head says:

“Is that where that goes?”

And, of late, another, angry/annoyed voice has taken to shouting in response:

“IT IS NOW!!!!!!”

So, I’m all alone and hearing voices.

I mean, I guess as long as they don’t start saying things like “kill” or “my precious” or “it will put the lotion in the basket” I’m OK but I think I need to get some books on tape or something.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. LOL!!!! You never fail to make me smile!!!!!

    I love your booth!! I would be so drawn in by the colors and vintage look of your wares!! It’s busy looking but in a good way because everything is coordinated. It’s the busy ones where it’s eclectic that turn me away…I can’t make sense of it all!! But yours is really appealing!!! Eye candy, if you will!!! 🙂

    I wish I could do books on tape…but I check out too much thinking of other stuff for them or I leave the room. So I’m a huge radio fan….music (94.7 is good background), talk….NPR is good for interesting and engaging stories that aren’t all news or all music. 🙂 With radio you can check in and out and not feel like you missed anything!! lol!!!

    Reply
    • I know exactly what you mean Laura. I space out on them too. I’ll try the radio route (although the politics may get old fast).
      Thanks for the kind words about both my technicolor table and the blog.

      Reply
      • Yea, the political stuff can get old fast. I have a few stations that I cruise around so that I only get local hosts and local L.A. news (for the most part). My politics are pretty libertarian so total conservative or liberal don’t appeal to me. NPR is fun sometimes because it’s can be like reading human interest stories….neat interviews and stories about real people that aren’t two minute end caps, but more in-depth and intriguing. But when I just need to have good vibes it’s 94.7 (in L.A.)….when it’s on and the weather is nice it’s like living the dream!! lol!!!!

        I don’t watch TV or have satellite radio so AM/FM is it for me and I really like it!! If you would like any recommendations let me know!! 🙂

  2. David, great booth. Colorful = good, in my book! About the talking to yourself…don’t worry, I do it all the time. Often, it’s the most intelligent conversation I have all day! 😉

    Reply
  3. Hi David,
    Happy to hear you had a good day. No wonder, your booth set up was perfection!!!
    I’m going to give your “is that where it goes” idea a try. Hoefully, the voices won’t be to much of a distraction.
    Nicki

    Reply
  4. Wow – your booth looks totally amazing!

    I listen to NPR when I’m working on editing, etc, usually in the morning. I’ll be half listening, then suddenly hear something in the middle of the story that piques my interest, but I’m missed half of the story because I wasn’t listening. Then I have to got to the website and see what they were talking about. Upside, it’s a little procrastination tool. As if I don’t have enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

