RSS Feed

I need some minions

First off, thank you all so much for your feedback about the wooden sign.  I really appreciate it.  I’ll be making a bunch more in the next couple of days and will be following your suggestions (thanks too to whoever posted it on Pinterest – I think it’s up to 30 something repins).

And welcome to the new folks – thank you for signing up!

We are now up to 102 residents here on Cheltenham Road and I’m so appreciative!

And that’s  great because I am in serious need of some minions!  You know, folks who will do stuff for me (and of course, gladly sacrifice themselves when James Bond breaks into my garage secret lair!)……or at least let me know if they like the stuff I’m working on.  Applications are currently being accepted*

 

You see I’ve been going a little nuts trying to get ready for: This is Unique LA’s first Valentine’s show and, rather than being juried, they have just picked a few vendors that they like to participate and I was quite honored to be included.

So, if you’re in LA (or nearby) do put it on your schedule.  The Unique folks run a great show complete with free food and drinks and a truly festive vibe that just makes for a totally fun afternoon.

And at the same time as I’m gearing up for Unique a new retail store on the West Side asked me to sell my wares through them.

Oh, and it’s also Rose Bowl this weekend too (I’m working on figuring out how to be in two places at once).

So, while that is great for me it’s not that great for blogging since my blog posts would consist mostly of

Monday:  Made Coasters

Tuesday: Made Coasters

Wednesday:  Made coasters and candle blocks

Lather Rinse Repeat

But it’s only for this “crush” week and then I’ll be free to dive into some new projects like this great little dresser I just picked up.

And it’s top is so attractive I think I’ll just leave it “as is” cause who wouldn’t want that?!

I’m seeing kids dresser using chalkboard paint on the drawers…whaddya think?

 

*Minion Position Benefits Package:  Uniform and weapon provided.  No Health Care.  All the pie you can eat.

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

20 responses »

  1. Oh I love pie, especially pumpkin!. So of course I’m applying.

    Reply
  2. Jenniffer Dorsett

    Yay…I’ve always wanted to be a minion! I can’t wait to see how that dresser turns out. I have friends that just bought a house and decided to use chalkboard paint on one wall in the kitchen so they can list the menu for the week, make grocery lists and leave notes for each other. I love chalkboard paint!

    Reply
  3. I keep kind of fantasizing about doing that chalkboard wall thing too. Maybe with some magnetic primer underneath……

    Reply
  4. I would so apply, if I didn’t live in Michigan! I pinned your wood love sign on my board “Gimme”! I don’t have any repins from my pin though. Silly people.

    Reply
  5. How about a Canadian point of view? Might be good, eh?

    Reply
  6. I became a minion earlier, and pie is a terrible downfall of mine. Are you sure you can afford all I can eat? You might want to rethink your offer. But you’re funny, and that’s about all I require of a leader. So if the job’s still open….?

    Reply
  7. Hmmm…great idea in theory but Clara and I were talking and we wondered how excited any parent would be to find chalk all over the clean clothes in the drawers????
    Phebe

    Reply
    • Excellent point! Thank you. I wasn’t actually imagining painting the entire drawer front in chalkboard but rather just a section where you could write “pants” or “shirts” or something just to help the kid stay organized. Would that be good or still to much of a chalk dust threat?

      Reply
  8. I’m a high-maintenance minion…I’ll work for freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! Oh, and you mentioned weapons…would that be of the glue gun, staple gun or nail gun variety? 😉

    Reply
    • Excellent question. I’m thinking each minion should have the full range of weapons. That way they can respond to any situation be it a creative need or a James Bond defensive posture.
      And I make a mean chocolate chip cookie. Your in!

      Reply
  9. Ok, count me in! I already have the uniform~paint smeared jeans and sweatshirt. You can have my share of pie~all I need is coffee. Weapon of choice~nail/staple gun or, for an old broad, I can throw a sanding block pretty far. Good luck cloneing yourself this week end.
    ox,
    Nicki

    Reply
  10. I’m a newbie, (friend of Phebe’s). But would love to be a minion and will settle for chocolate chips by themselves.

    Reply
  11. Did someone say ‘Pie’?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

