RSS Feed

New Tools!

If you know me you know I like nothing better than getting a new power tool.  Nail guns of all sizes! Drill Press!  Saw!  My goal seems to be to collect all of them.

But hardware store clerks are a jaded crew.  They are not impressed by my purchases.

For reasons I’ll explain in a minute I recently went into Paper House and told the clerk that I wanted  to buy a Silhouette Cameo Cutter.

Her eyes went wide and she said “Ohhh, how great!” which kind of surprised me but I figured she was just being positive.

But then she went and got it and, as she passed back through the store a low murmur began “ohhh whose getting a Cameo?” and “oh look!  Lucky!!!

and they kind of, well….. followed her.

So when she got back to me she arrived with a sort of gang.  A gang who, when they saw me (not who they were expecting I gather) sort of paused and then began firing questions.  “is this for your wife?”  “Is it a Valentines Day present?!!!!”  “I wish someone would buy me one of those!!!

I felt very selfish confessing that it was for me.  But that just unleashed new questions

What do you make?”  “Do you know what this can do!!!!!”   “Are you single?!” (she was joking…..I think….)

The guys at the hardware store never paid this much attention to me.  I’m buying all my tools at Paper House from now on.  Do they carry drill bits?

The reason I bought it was that my London Underground Dresser got a lot of attention – including a local store who wants me to make more things like it.  Which is great but I’ll confess the dresser was a bit laborious to create.  To get the font and size I wanted I had to print out and cut out all the letters.  So the Cameo seemed like a great solution to this problem and, of course can be used for a lot of other things as well.

Up first is this little coffee table which was, literally, in the trash after the last Rose Bowl.  Two of the legs were broken off but otherwise it was fine.

 I glued and reinforced the legs but there were still ugly gaps.

So I employed my bondo treatement.

Before

Bondoed (a new verb!)

Sanded

Painted (yes that is an old sock hanging from the shrubbery…I have no explanation)

And now it’s time for fun.  I’m thinking, with all its curvey details and such

this tables gonna go all Paris Metro (image courtesy of The Muse)!

…..Now I just need to read the instructions on the Cameo.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

9 responses »

  1. Cannot wait to see the final result!

    Reply
  2. LOL! You are too funny… and, I can totally relate to your shopping experience!
    Some of those tools can be used outside of the “Scrap-booking / Card making” world… I buy Punches and Dies all the time… One time a woman (customer) in a Micheal’s asked me if I needed help? I guess a bearded and Fit guy looks out of place in that department???, I told her that I am a “Collage Artist” and love using Cut shapes in my work… With that said, She really was a BIG help and Glad that I met here because she introduced me to the “Cuttle Bug” and Spellbinder Dies, LOVE the process of cutting paper now and the Shapes are wicked cool
    … I have a feeling the Silhouette Cameo Cutter is going to work well for you!

    keep us posted!

    Reply
  3. That repair makes me think of a lame horse…rescued! Saved! Now able to frolick in a green meadow and live out its days in comfort and peace! Miraculous! You are a talented treasure and not just because we share genes…
    Phebe

    Reply
  4. Hi David,
    What I wouldn’t give to be a fly on your wall~or a spider in your garage~so I could watch you work your magic. With your new toy, you’ve gone way beond needing my stencil “secrets”.
    Nicki

    Reply
  5. I can’t wait to see how the table comes out!

    Reply
  6. Oooohhhh, you’re gonna FLY with the Cameo!!

    Reply
  7. Great table – Now I have a reason for bondo. I have to get some – that’s a sweet fix!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

