RSS Feed

Texture!

Do you guys use Anaglypta?  It’s my new go-to item for easily adding some depth and texture to anything.

I realize many of read that and thought to yourselves:

“yes, David, we know about Anaglypta – and, just FYI, we’ve also already stumbled across the wheel, fire and sliced bread but thanks so much for sharing.”

But for those of you who are less snarky Anaglypta is not, as I first thought, an Egyptian Pharoh but rather  a textured wallpaper.

It’s embossed and very, very sturdy and, best of all, not too expensive.  You can pick up a roll at Lowes for around $20.

I had this coffee table from the End Table Nirvana Haul

It has nice scalloped edges and after some gluing, sanding priming and painting (black) it looked pretty good.

But it just wasn’t catching anyone’s eye after, I think, three Rose Bowl cycles.

So I had piece glass cut and put some Anaglypta under it and…..

It sold within minutes!

So, I’m totally won over by Anaglypta and I’ve been inspired by these projects as well.

It makes such a great, subtle addition to this drawer front from The Rehab Boutique

Or check out this amazing transformation from Dumped and Discovered (I’m hooked on this blog too!).

How great will this be when you’re confronted with some beyond repair veneer or something? 

I can’t wait to get going on a new project!

Have a great weekend everyone!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. David, I had never heard of it! Just had a thought…imagine if you combined the texture of it with silver paint to give it a zinc effect. Check out the spray paint Ann Marie @ Twice Lovely used to achieve a cool zinc look. I think those two products could create something really gorgeous! http://twicelovely.blogspot.com/2012/01/faux-zinc-topped-french-side-tables.html

    Reply
  2. Are you certain it’s not a disease of the lung? The name makes me phlegmy just thinking about it. On the other hand, it does make that coffee table gorgeous so I guess I’ll just cough away.

    Reply
  3. What a deeply cool idea! I’m on it!

    Reply
  4. Well – I do admit to being mostly blonde with gray mixed in, however, I’ve never heard the formal name for the tin ceiling wallpaper. I’m so impressed and can’t wait to find some for those projects that need more help than I care to give!

    Thanks again! Love how you used it in your projects!

    Reply
  5. David, I picked up some Anaglypta for $1.00 at an estate sale a few months ago, but until you shared your abundant knowledge with the rest of us, I had NO idea of what it was or how to use it. Loved the texture (it is a flowery, scroll type) and could have bought more (if I had only known), but am always overwhelmed with the urge to buy without any plans for what to do with or how to store my treasures.

    The examples that you pictured are great, but your end table is by far the BEST!!! No wonder it sold so fast. You have a real magic touch when it comes to breathing new life into your creations!

    Reply
  6. I love this! I would love to do something like this, but paint it a color that coordinates with my living room to give it a pop. Fantastic job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

