RSS Feed

It’s a Family Thing

Welcome new folks – thanks so much for joining!

As most of you know I named my business in honor of my family and their mad creative skills and every now and again I want to do a family update.

Dad has weighed in a with his latest lazy susan project.

I had posted about his work previously but here is the Readers Digest version of my dad.

 Dad:

  • He is incredibly creative and precise and does beautiful work (great qualities now but almost drove me to drink as a 10 year old who just wanted to build a model).
  • Almost 90 and still going strong creating terrific pieces.
  • Though not remotely senile, wanders around central Ohio in winter wearing short sleeved shirts and no jacket whereas I live in Southern California and am currently wearing three layers of clothing INSIDE MY HOUSE.
  • Also, almost 90 and has full head of hair – which is just plain mean.

This lazy susan, as you can see, has a built in checkerboard and he even made his own checkers for it! (cause I guess just, you know, buying some checkers wasn’t sufficiently show-offy).

You may recall my sister Phebe’s Guest Post but here is the reader’s digest version of her:

Phebe:

  • Vibrantly creative with pretty much anything she puts her mind to.
  • Early proponent of the Home School movement – tried to teach me how to read when I was 6 months old.
  • Currently favorite sister because she provided a guest blog post without prompting.
  • Full head of hair……..but I’m OK with that.
  • Showed proper respect by marrying a man named David.
  • Loses points only because her David also sports a full head of hair.

And I’m very excited because my sister Paula and her husband have opened their own Etsy store!

Here is the Paula 411

Paula:

  • Possibly the most positive, loving person you will ever meet.  Can and does make pretty much everything and it’s always beautiful.
  • Superpower: always has the tweek or idea that will make any project better.
  • Full head of hair….I’m learning to accept it.
  • Loses points for marrying someone not named David who also displays a full head of hair –which he recently grew long just to drive the point home.

I featured one of the clocks they are making in my Underground Dresser photo (it was a Christmas present!).

It’s made from a cigar box and Paula’s not-named-David husband has done a bunch of others. (click on the pic for a link to their shop)

And Paula has started producing these soft portfolios (also at thier shop – click the pic for the link up)

There is a third sister.  Sally – who is equally awesome but has not yet provided pictures of her amazing work making all things paper – including jewelry!

Sally

  • numerous hair-styling options available to her (whatever)
  • gains points for marrying someone named David.
  • loses points because, you guessed it, her David, owns a comb and blowdryer.

And, of course mom!

MOM:

  • Awesome is the only word. 
  • I blogged about her mad Chistmas skills previously.
  • Despite what science says, can’t be blamed for the hair thing as her father also had full, thick head of hair into his 90s so it’s totally not her fau……!

OMG!  I’m totally adopted!  My sister wasn’t just being mean when I was 6!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. absolutely love you and your sense of fun and writing skills! Even if I don’t comment – getting ready for a sale in Feb. myself – I read your every word.

    Don’t hate me – I also have a full head of hair but I’m sure I would love yours too if I ever saw it!!!

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much Bonnie!
    What/where/when is your big sale?!

    Congrats on the hair.

    Reply
  3. Ok, so when do we get to see a pic of the actual hair-less David that’s older than 6 – or maybe I’ve been looking in the wrong place? What an awesome family reunion – do all the David’s have nicknames for group occasions?

    Reply
    • You’ll have to watch for me in TV reruns!
      Yes, we started out with nicknames. I was “Young Dave” but that made “Old Dave” cranky. I was also “small Dave” until I grew taller than “Old Dave” which also made Old Dave cranky. Now we just go by full names or just a chorus of “whats?!” whenever someone calls David.

      Reply
  4. What a wonderful thing to say!!! I’m going to read this post everyday as a great morning starter. Also THANKS for the shop reference and I’m glad you liked the clock. I did notice it in the picture and was very pleased that you used it on that great dresser.

    Reply
  5. Very cute 🙂 I am sure all of your family members are proud!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

