RSS Feed

End Table Nirvana Continues To Pay Off!

So we’ll continue our furniture world tour with a little French end table I worked on for the Rose Bowl.

This was another find from the End Table Nirvana (yes, I’m still working my way through that amazing furniture haul!).

She had tossed this little guy in at the last minute for free “because it’s broken.”

But all that was broken was that the top wasn’t fully attached and the lower shelf had split along a seam.  The finish was looking a little sad too.  But one can never argue with free!

So, as usual, it was time for sanding, glue, bondo and clamps (always clamps!)

After some drying time it got another good sanding, a cleaning with TSP and quick coat of flat white paint (actually ceiling paint left over from my dining room).

The next step was to distress it a little but I was in a bit of a bad mood and got a kinda carried away.  The final result was not as much “distressed” as it was “traumatized” but I didn’t have time to go back in and repaint.

I decided it needed a little help from the Graphics Fairy and did a little mixing and matching with these labels that she so generously provides.

Once I got them (re)arranged and reversed I went to town with my Blender Pen method.

A nice coating of wax and I was all done and it was time for pictures.

I feel that lemons should always be stored on the lower shelf of a table in the hallway near the bathroom where the light is better.  Don’t you?  It’s a great spot for your vintage camera collection too.  Just a little FYI from me to you.

I’m happy to report that this one sold at the Rose Bowl!  And considering it was free and the paint was leftover – the overhead on this one was just printer ink, blender pen, a knob and time!  Yay!

Please check out these great link parties

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

19 responses »

  1. And it couldn’t have turned out any cuter! Lucky purchaser! 🙂

    Reply
  2. This table is gorgeous! You’ve inspired me to use a label on a piece of furniture. I just have to decide what and where I’ll put it.

    Reply
  3. This table looks great, I can see why it sold quickly! I just used the same graphics fairy image on a stool, love it. I’m going to check out your image transfer method now. (found your project on diy showoff linky party).

    Reply
  4. Absolutely beautiful!TFS.
    Happy Brag Monday.
    XO Marie

    Reply
  5. I am flabbergasted by the transformation. What type of paint did you use so I can try my hand at something similar. Thank you.

    Reply
    • Hi Fran,
      I just used some leftover, flat, ceiling paint. When I tried this technique in the past I used a satin latex paint and it wasn’t as successful. So flat paint (doesn’t have to be ceiling paint – that was just what I had on hand) is my suggestion.

      Reply
  6. Gorgeous redo. The blender pen transfer method is the bee’s knees. I love how easy it is and how great it looks.

    Reply
  7. What a gorgeous little table!! I’m not surprised at all, that it sold! Thanks so much for linking this up today David. I wanted to say too that, if you do a guest post with one of my images, you can still link up to Brag Monday, It’s okay by me!

    Reply
  8. Your table looks fabulous! Those are my two favorite graphics to use! I don’t know what many of us redo-er’s would do without the Graphics Fairy.

    Reply
  9. Love what you did with it David…SWOON! I’m moving to South America, have a storage room FULL of lovely old little pieces, sure wish I could send ’em all to you! I know you’d do marvellous things with them…siigh…

    Reply
  10. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this table….just subscribed and so glad to find and meet you. I’ll be back often…come on over and visit…Mariaelena

    Reply

Leave a Reply

