RSS Feed

“This is the cool place!”

Dresser MakeoverThis is the cool place!

A woman exclaimed that as she approached my booth yesterday at the Rose Bowl.  AND she actually proceeded to buy something.

I’ve discovered that exclamations of “OH MY GOD I LOVE THIS!!!!” do not necessarily lead to purchases.  Last year a woman stopped dead in her tracks, and shouted (like at the top of her lungs) “I’VE GOT TO HAVE THAT!!!!” when looking at one my clocks.  Then there was a brief pause while I, and pretty much everyone nearby, stopped and waited.  Aaaand then she walked on.

Now I realize that I don’t actually purchase everything I think is cool.  But I’m kind of a quiet person by nature so if something grabbed me so much  that I reacted to it like I was having a heart attack and it was a nitroglycerin tablet I’d probably fork over the money.  But that’s just me.

Anyway, the weather was beyond beautiful yesterday (sorry east coasters) –  70s, sunny with a light breeze.  Sales were good, although my “oh this is so cool/but I’m not buying it” rate was better.  I think people were suffering with that post-Christmas “good lord what did I do!?” hangover.

The big eye catcher was my new dresser that I hinted at on Saturday.

I’d had this dresser sitting around and was waiting for inspiration to strike. And it struck big time when I saw this blog post from the very talented Lauren and Nick of  Lindaure Designs (the link is for their excellent tutorial).

Isn’t  that beyond cool?!  The minute I saw it I couldn’t wait to get started.

Mine’s a little different – different city, different layout but I was pleased with the final result.

(and I just realized when I posted this that I not only stole their dresser idea I even stole the fan they put on top of it!  Shall we just chalk the whole thing up to “sincerest form of flattery” and move on?  I think we shall.  Oops!)

The dresser got the most “oh that’s cool/wander away” action but I kind of expected that.  It’s a very specific person who’s going to want to own it so it’s OK.

I did manage to get away from the booth to hang out for a bit with my friend Nicki of Nicki Huard Creations.  Her booth was busier than mine.  Crazy busy.  Too busy…..  I think I like her less now….

However, despite liking her less, I have to show you these nifty teapot lamps she makes.

And she has promised to teach me how she does her stenciling (she has secrets!) because look at these boxes!

Look at how clean those lines are!  You may be thinking “uhhh, David, it’s a stencil.”  But this is rough wood so to get that kind of sharpness takes some skills and I want to acquire them!

Today I started to tackle the garage as phase one of my war on disorganization!  If you don’ t hear from me again I probably dropped something on myself.

Linking up here:

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

32 responses »

  1. WOW David,

    I love YOUR dresser SO much more than the one that you “stole” the idea from!! London being my all time FAVORITE city and seeing this dresser brings back so many super memories that I want to see how fast I can dump all of my everyday grown-up things that have me tied down and cross over the “pond”!!

    Looking forward to your next blog,

    Suzanne

    Reply
    • Love your projects, and I must say, a little testosterone in blog world is refreshing. Love the girlfriends, but a man’s perspective is just different – the way it’s supposed to be. 🙂 Your skills are admirable.
      -Revi

      Reply
  2. David, I would have had the “heart attack/nitroglycerin” reaction to that dresser and been all too happy to fork over my money. THAT. DRESSER. IS. TOO. FAB. FOR. WORDS. I love your version because of the crisp, clean lettering and those wonderful top two knobs (what are they?). And I love watching how your styling and photography are growing by leaps and bounds. You are gonna leave us all in your dust! 🙂 Sharing this on my fb page today, my friend.

    Reply
  3. Love it, David. I did a similar dresser, inspired by the same blog post. Check it out when you have time. I’d love for you to “visit”. By the way, it sold in about 18 hrs. after it was posted on my business web site. 😉
    Fondly, Tami
    http://www.thisandthatfromtami.blogspot.com
    http://thisandthatfromtami.blogspot.com/2011/11/subway-art-bureau.html

    Reply
  4. Hi David,
    You are such a hoot. I’ll take being liked “less” as the ultimate compliment. Your dresser turned out beautiful as does all your projects.
    Thanks again for your generous comments,
    Nicki

    Reply
  5. Your dresser is awesome! What a great idea. We’ll just keep the “pay it forward” thing going and do it too…

    Reply
  6. My son and I can’t wait to come and check you out at the Rose Bowl…shooting for February. He wishes it was tomorrow! Love the drawers. Your stuff is fantastic and I know you are going to master those stenciling secrets!

    Reply
  7. David, I love this idea! Your blog post is so funny, love it!

    Reply
  8. WOW! you really did an amazing job with that dresser! it looks so crisp! thank you for coming out of the lurking and linking up! 😉

    Reply
  9. this is really awesome! my friend is doing a London inspired living room, and I pretty sure something like this is a must. thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  10. Totally awesome! I just recently did my first subway art furniture, a secretary desk and for some reason, everyone does seem to go crazy over subway art furniture! Well, it’s awesome, of course! 🙂 You did one swell job, sister. I’d love if you’d link this up on Kammy’s Korner for Trash 2 Treasure Tuesday! http://kammyskorner.blogspot.com/2012/01/trash-2-treasure-tuesday-15.html

    Reply
  11. Ack! I have got to have that….but i, too, am not actually going to buy it. the underground knobs are the perfect touch!

    Reply
  12. David–LOVE the chest of drawers (that’s what we call tall ones ’round these parts) Super job.
    I love that stenciling, I’m curious how she does it too!!!!
    thanks for linking up AND linking back to catch as catch can! “catching’ you this week.
    gail

    Reply
    • Thank Gail! Actually Nicki let me in on part of her secret (I think the other part is extreme skill) and it’s a product called “Stencil Magic Paint Cream” that she gets at JoAnns. I have yet to check it out but, clearly, it’s worth it.

      Reply
  13. Pingback: Tutes & Tips Not to Miss | Home Stories A to Z

  14. Love subway art- your dresser is darling! Thanks for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday!

    Reply
  15. David, this is awesome – how did you paint the letters??

    Reply
    • Hey Amy,

      I painted the drawer fronts white. Then I actually printed out the letters individually onto Avery 8.5×11 label sheets and cut them out. I then stuck them on the dresser and painted over them and peeled them off.

      >________________________________

      Reply
  16. wow, i love the transformation it looks amazing. xxx

    Reply
  17. I am in love with this dresser, just as I was in love with your inspiration piece, that I pinned and have on my project que! I am pinning your dresser too, it is da bomb! And I love those little “London Tube” pulls! I can almost hear the big voice in the tube ominously stating, “MIND THE GAP”!

    That is hilarious too about the reaction of people when they love something. Been there, heard that, experienced the no sale.

    PS I have a linky party every Friday – Sunday and I would love it if you could stop by and link up. Thanks, -K

    Reply
  18. We love your dresser! Thank you so much for visiting our blog and giving us a little link love!

    Reply
  19. David, I want to Thank you for this post! My daughter’s room is decorated in the Beatles and I was going to paint the Union Jack flag on her chest but when I saw this I thought of their albumn’s names and knew that would be perfect! Here is the link for you to see it!

    http://ahouseofprojects.blogspot.com/2012/03/subway-chest.html

    Stephanie

    Reply
  20. Pingback: Something for me, someday… « The Barrister's Horse

  21. HI David, i just saw this piece on pinterest, i would love to feature it, i know I’ve featured you before, just want to make sure its ok

    Reply
  22. Congratulations on your feature – it turned out wonderful – Lindauer was my inspiration for subway dressers too LOL

    Reply
  23. Gorgeous dresser, I want one! Funny description of heart-attack lady.

    Reply
  24. Pingback: 15 Cool City Inspired Home Decor Ideas | Interior Design Blogs

Leave a Reply

