RSS Feed

Getting My Act Together

I’m not big on New Years Resolutions.

But every year as the calendar flips over I can’t help but think about what I want or need to change.

Since “Resolutions!” has become synonymous with “Failure!” in my mind I’ve tried to trick myself by using euphamisms like:

 “Goal Setting!”

Fail 2010

 I’ve tried to keep my Resolutions very reasonable so as not to set myself up for a disappointment:

 “2009 will be the year I stop considering brownies an adequate dinner!”

Fail.

However, this year I just can’t afford to fake it.  2012 needs to be:

The Year I Get Organized.

I’ve always been fairly together.  My homework was turned in on time, the house was reasonably clean, bills paid etc.

However, the Cheltenham Road business has made me change which Peanuts character I identify with.

I used to align with Linus and, as I’ve aged, I’ve managed to look more like him too (not really my plan).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

However, of late I have, of necessity, switched over to feelng a little more like:

 Pig Pen.

A)    I’m always covered in sawdust and wearing really beat up old clothing

B)     Everything CR associated is a disorganized mess.

I think “A” is unavoidable and I just need to accept it.  However, “B” is slowing me down and wasting a lot of my time.

I’ve made some progress.  My indoor workroom used to look like this and I actually worked in the dining room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I’ve got the dining room back and the workroom looks like this:

So, that’s progress but a far cry from looking like this – which was my goal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

However the garage still looks like this (actually this is an old pic – it looks worse if you can imagine)

So 2012 is the Year of Organization and failure is not an option!  (actually it’s probably an option in the fine print at the bottom but, as I do with all fine print, I’m going to ignore it).

First up.  GET A FREAKIN’ CALENDAR!!! Because the Rose Bowl has, despite being a very regularly scheduled event, wait for it……..Snuck up on Me!

It’s tomorrow and I will have pics to share and a new furniture project that I’m really pleased with.  Here’s a hint

OK, I’m off to have a brownie for breakfast, a bowl of oatmeal!

Ugh,  this 2012 thing  is gonna be tough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. Hi,
    Well I like to think that it just comes with the territory of us creative types to be a bit unorganized. I go from being organized when my brain is functioning in that mode and then poof it’s all gone when my creative juices are flowing. Love your posts they are so much fun.

    Reply
  2. Good morning,
    You’re posts never cease to bring a smile. And this one is no exception. I have found that “organized” is a relative term. It’s the final result that counts, not what you had to wade thru to get it. And your results are always so amazing. And about the Rose Bowl, I’ve been doing this for 11 years and it still has a way of sneaking up on me.
    Good luck tomorrow,
    Nicki

    Reply
  3. You are definitely as funny as you are artistic!! lol!!! And that’s a lot!!

    Also,I’ve always considered brownies to be an anytime meal….isn’t that what everyone thinks?????

    I so agree with Nicki and Linda…..when you are artistic and running your own business organization is a relative term especially if ultra-organization doesn’t come by nature. I’m nowhere near as busy or creative as you, but I try to stay as organized as possible to be efficient…for a while…then I clean up and start over!!! lol!!! The thing that helped me the most was accepting that neat-as-a-pin organization isn’t my style and not to beat myself up for a certain level of chaos. When the chaos doesn’t feel right anymore I know it’s time to clear up and see it all put back together.

    It’s such a matter of finding your balance and what makes you the most productive.

    Reply
  4. Thank you all! I totally agree, you can’t be totally organized all of the time and real life ain’t a magazine shoot. However, I do need to get at least a little bit better or I am truly going to go crazy.

    So yes, Laura, balance is totally what I need to find….and a breakfast food that doesn’t taste like paste…..

    See you tomorrow NIcki! Here’s to sunny skies and numerous customers!

    Reply
  5. You are right, getting organized saves lots of time (not having to search for things), money (not repurchasing items you know you have but can’t find) & is psychologically very “freeing” (all that stuff & in a hog podge weighs you down).

    I also have a messy hobby, quilting, and although I’ve gotten all the miriad of tools, fabrics etc. well organized, I’ve found the only way to keep them that way is to take the time, after each project is finished, and put everything back where it goes. Otherwise, my studio is a place I avoid because I don’t like being in the middle of the chaos.

    Take heart, the dream work space you show, from Pottery Barn or Crate & Barrel’s catalog, doesn’t look like that while it’s owner is in the middle of a project. He/she straighten it all up for the photograph (or would have if he/she were a real person, not a catalog designer). Most work creates a mess.

    Congratulations on your “New Goals”. It is good to take stock of where we are periodically, and evaluate if that is where we want to be, and is it making for a satisfying life. You’ve already done a huge amount in that direction, way more than most people. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Seeing things, and doing things, from a different perspective is an important part of the creative process. And you are certainly very creative and talented.

    Best wishes for a happy and productive new year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

