RSS Feed

Christmas has kicked my butt!

(First off, my apologies for those of you who get email notifications of new posts.  I hit the wrong  button a few minutes ago and prematurely published – this is the real version).

Wow!  I thought I was ready and together for Christmas.

I was wrong!

I’m sold out of almost everything I make.  Etsy is empty.  I had to skip the Rose Bowl last weekend because I had nothing to sell.  And I’ve spent the last few days rushing to fill a corporate order that had me making 160 coasters in about two days.

This is what’s known as an excellent problem!

And, even though it’s old news I wanted to get a post in about Unique LA.

It was a great experience.  So many talented vendors, beautifully organized and such terrific (and abundant) customers!

It started off a little rocky (thanks to me) though.

The folks who run Unique take it very seriously and expect you to step up to the plate as far as your booth decorating and planning and such.

So my booth partner Trisha and I decided we would create panels for her products to hang on, frame the sides of the pillar that made up the corner of our booth and coordinate it all in a single color.  Excellent!  I just had to build it.

We also settled on a paint color color – a  vintagy blue green that we got from one of Trisha’s old matchbooks.  She went and got the paint matched I got to work.

The resulting color was…..not what I had imagined.  It was a perfect match to what we’d chosen – nobody did anything wrong.  But when splashed everywhere rather than just on a tiny section of a matchbook it looked as if we either A) sold onesies for babies or B) our store was an homage to 1950s mental institutions.  The former would have been totally misleading.  The latter was, given my lunatic nature, a bit closer to the truth but not really the vibe one wants to project.

But it was up there and it was too late to change it.

Move in day was hectic.  Freight elevator delays, forgotten tools (like my drill!), general panic and I didn’t finish setting up in time so I came back the next morning to finish.

I kinda failed.

So they opened the doors to the event.  The happy crowd swelled in and…..I was on the floor under a table madly hunting for coasters.

So much for a graceful entrance.

But after that everything went great.

The booth actually looked good once everything was up (sorry for the phone pictures but, along with the drill I forgot my camera).

I made this shelving system to disply the HOME signs and boy did it work.  Sold out in about an hour – had to hussle to make more that night (I didn’t know I could make them that fast.  Apparently I just needed the right motivation).

And by the second day I was almost totally wiped out of stock and had learned a valuable lesson about how to prepare for next Christmas.

Now I’m in Ohio for my mom’s 90th Birthday celebration!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. So happy you’re having good problems 🙂 The booth looks awesome!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on having absolutely no inventory. I agree that the booth looks great. It looks like the inside of a vintage ColdSpot refridgerator. You could always trim in a light cream or an off white if you were truly looking to tone down (what I think is) an awesome color. A joyous season to you and yours.

    Reply
  3. Hi David,
    Now I know why I couldn’t find you last Sunday. You didn’t miss much, it was kind of slow and after reading your post I now know why…everyone spent all their Christmas cash at your booth at Unique LA. Seriously, it looks amazing and I LOVE the color. Have a wonderful holiday with your family.
    Nicki

    Reply
  4. What a great problem, sold out! Congratulations!

    Reply
  5. Sounds like you did great! CONGRATS! I love the Home signs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

