RSS Feed

I Got a Rock

The Great Pumpkin* wishes you and yours a very Happy Halloween!

*For newer readers, yes, that is me.  No, I was not drunk.  Yes, I demanded to be The Great Pumpkin for Halloween when I was six.  No, my parents did not seek therapy for my god complex.

I don’t seem to have many Halloween pictures from my childhood.

But perhaps there is a reason for that.

I seem to have had difficulty as a child sticking with mainstream Halloween choices.  My failure to convince people that I was the Great Pumpkin was followed shortly thereafter by declairing myself Patrick Henry for the Bicentennial Halloween edition.

The girls behind me clearly got the Halloween memo and were, sensibly dressed as hobos and, I don’t know… Holly Hobby?

But me?  Nope, there I am, Patrick Henry, complete with scroll and a Give me Liberty of Give Me Death vibe.

I don’t recall that I got a lot of candy that year.

However, I did stick with my Charlie Brown theme as time went by – although I downgraded myself from demi-god to leading man as evidenced by this shot of my homemade 4th of July parade float (why were my shorts so tight?  I am not remotely a fashion conscious person but, seriously, every time I see a picture of my childhood self the first thing that always springs to mind is “what the hell am I wearing?”).

I hope everyone elses costumes are a big hit and that you all have a safe and candy-filled night! (and my sincere sympathies to kids who live in the snowy northeast!)

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. I am busting a gut laughing. You are a hoot.

    Reply
  2. Happy Halloween! Charlie Brown rocks!!

    Reply
  3. You are too funny!

    Reply
  4. I am literally laughing out loud! You were cute as a button, but the “what the hell am I wearing” quote had me howling! Love it!

    Reply
  5. Ha ha ha!! “Patrick Henry…” that’s the name of one of my husbands…SERIOUSLY!! “What the hell am I wearing!?” Seriously David, who really CARES!? The “real” question is…was it FUN!? I’m guessing YESSSS!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

