RSS Feed

Chalkboard Place Cards – whaddya think?

Thanks very much for all the great words about my dad’s Lazy Susans!  He reads the blog and was so happy!  He also reports there are three or four more in the shop in various stages of preparation.  I’ll keep you posted on the next installment of As the Lazy Susan Turns.

But here and now my latest tutorial is up on the Mod Podge Rocks blog.

With Thanksgiving coming I was trying to think of fun, different ways to make place cards and after brainstorming with a friend we came up with these vintagy chalkboard versions.   They are very easy to make and the total cost (with extra left over) was about $8.

Once I got going on them my brain started racing with all the possible variations.  You could make the bases look like records and use scans of vintage album covers on the tag.  Or you could use baby pictures of the guests or vintage Christmas images with the bases made of vintage wrapping paper etc etc – kinda endless themey possibilities.

I’m contemplating making a version to sell in my Etsy shop what do you guys think?

The only downside I can see is that the tags are only 3” across with 1.5” taken up by the image which means you could only invite friends with names like Sue or Bob – your buddy Agamemnon will not be attending this soiree.

If you’re keen on the idea check out the full tutorial over at Mod Podge Rocks.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. Poor, poor Agamemnon! Maybe you could just put Ag on his? 🙂 Love this. Totally unique and creative. They need to be in your shop for sure!

    Reply
  2. I really like these…the Christmas idea is great–you should sell them on Etsy!
    Phebe

    Reply
  3. David,
    These are great! You could make the whole thing blackboard with the back and a narrow border being the wrapping paper and put a corner to corner ribbon with a small bow so you had more room to write a longer name.
    I really think you should put them up on Etsy.

    Reply
  4. Genius! Fantastic tutorial over at MPR. What can’t you do with Mod Podge?

    Reply
  5. These are great and you are right, the possibilities are endless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

