RSS Feed

Everything did not come up Rose Bowl

It happened again!

The Rose Bowl suddenly snuck up on me and I was (wait for it!) UNPREPARED!

So I ran around like a crazy person finishing up tons of projects while – never one to focus on just one aspect of my life at a time – simultaneously closing the run of the play I was in.

Planning?  I don’ t need no stinking planning!

I did some more work with my Blender Pen on some End Table Nirvana tables (man that was a good day!).  And thanks to the generosity of The Graphics Fairy I was pleased with the outcome.

Here are the “before” shots as a reminder:

Of course I didn’t really put the final touch on them until Saturday  so I was in a hurry to take photos.

I decided to make use of the natural outside light rather than trying to stage something indoors but I think all I managed to do was make it look like they had just escaped and were making a run for it.

Keeping with my Frenchy theme I had some solid oak chairs that I had purchased for a song a very long time ago.  In my homage to Miss Mustard Seed I had splurged on some French Grain Sack material and gave a shot at that vintagy, frenchy, shabby, look (apparently the chairs also made a break for it).

Throw in some magnetic chalk boards

Some vintage Halloween goodness,

And I was all set.

The Booth looked festive!

The people showed up!

There was a lot of looking and pointing and exclaiming!

But

Nobody bought anything!

I went from September being my best month ever to October being my worst month ever.  Ugh.

I understand markets are unpredictable (hello my 401K) but sheesh!

Ah well.  Onward!

At least Etsy sales have been robust  and now, when I suddenly realize in early November that, “oh my god the Rose Bowl is next week!”  I won’t have to do much!

(that would be the lemonade-I-made-from-lemons-half- filling-my-glass perspective)

Shall we link?

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

9 responses »

  1. I have the exact same table as the first one you show in the before. It’s just sitting in my shop waiting to be painted along with a thousand other things. The finished products look great!
    Donna G.

    Reply
  2. I wish you lived closer (or maybe that I lived closer to you :)) I NEED one of those magnetic chalk boards! I love them!! Are they too big to ship!?

    Reply
  3. The tables and chairs look wonderful. I’m sorry about the show. I am taking the plunge and doing my first show early next month {gulp}, I guess it happens, huh? It just means the next show will be very profitable!

    Reply
  4. Love it all! If I were there, and not in Michigan, I would have bought something 😉

    Reply
  5. Those are some amazing pieces David! I checked out your Etsy store too and was blown away. Next show you’re bringing in some big sales, I’m sure. D

    Reply
  6. I can’t believe no one bought any of these lovely pieces. I especially love the tables!

    Reply
  7. Oooohhhh those tables…Love love LOVE!! What image transfer technique did you use…blender pen? GORGEOUS!!

    Reply
  8. The unpredictableness of retail….it’s a mystery isn’t it?? Why nobody bought anything is way beyond me….there must have been something weird in the air because how could anyone resist such marvelousness?? I agree that next month will be the complete opposite as people get into the holiday spirit!!

    Also, the Graphic Fairy is addictive!! I wish her search function was a little bit better, but really, it hasn’t stopped me yet!! lol!!!! All of those vintage images just grab the heart, don’t they??? Thank you for sharing her!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

