RSS Feed

Festive Reversible Bunting

First off thank you all very much for the kind words and good wishes about Free Agents!

I gather that I did make it past the final edit which is a relief.

I haven’t actually watched yet – I’m crazy busy and it is still a deeply weird experience to watch myself on TV.

And I don’t mean that totally from a vanity point of view because I actually look better on TV than I do in real life (never underestimate the power of good makeup artists, lighting, filters and, of course, CGI special effects.*)

But back to all things handmade.

My latest tutorial is up over at Mod Podge Rocks.

Those bunting banners that everyone seems to be making always look so cool so I thought I’d give one a try.  But I also wanted to incorporate a way to make it versatile so I came up with chalkboard bunting that has a pattern on one side and chalkboard on the other so you could change it out depending on your mood or the message you wanted to send.  You can check it out, along with the billions of other projects over on Amy’s site.

 

However, I really need to avoid doing projects that require a mantle as the giant TV that lurks just above mine kinda kills that homey/cottagy mood.  I also need to avoid projects that force me to expose my horrible handwriting…..live and learn…..

*That statement about the power of makeup reminded me of a favorite funny/awful moment I had several years ago.

 I was in a play by George Bernard Shaw called Misalliance.  We performed in a really nice theatre that sat about 700 people – not huge but not tiny either.  I played a “dashing aviator” (the play is set in the early 1900s) named Joey Percival.  My makeup for the show was very basic, no fake mustache or wig or anything – just enough simple makeup that I didn’t wash out under the lights.  So what I’m saying is that, bottom line, I looked like me only English and witty.

 After a matinee (daylight!) one day I was standing around outside chatting with the rest of the cast when a woman came up to us saying how much she loved the show.  She turned to each actor and complimented them individually and when she got to me she said:

 “Were you in the show?”

 I said yes, that I had played Joey the aviator (it was a kind of a major role – hard to forget)

 She looked at me for a second, I saw the light dawn in her eyes and prepared myself for the compliment that was sure to come.

And then she said:

 “Oh!  You’re much better looking from far away.”

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

2 responses »

  1. Ka Yute!!! 🙂 What a super idea!! I love that it can be customized!!! So smart!!!

    People are…..odd. I own a high school age theater here in OC and we did The Man Who Came to Dinner a few years ago. My niece had a pretty small role, but she had some important stage time…and she worked hard to make it memorable. Well, the play is over one night and all the actors go out to see friends and family still in full costume and make-up…my niece is standing among friends who came to see it and one turns to her and says, “You where in the play, too?”……..she laughs now but it wasn’t funny to her that night!!! 🙂

    I’m going to curl up in my chair and Hulu later this evening to check out your episode!!!!

    Reply
  2. David,

    We love your blog and featured it today at http://www.theroosterandthehen.com with a Liebster award. Come check out the award and help carry on the tradition of featuring new up and coming bloggers such as yourself. Congratulations!

    Dustin and Whitney
    The Rooster and The Hen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

