RSS Feed

I May be on TV on Wednesday! Or I may not!

Acting Update.

We briefly interrupt this furniture/craft/cranky diatribe blog to talk about acting.

First off, thanks to everyone for your words of encouragement and good thoughts about my  two audition day.

It looks like I didn’t get either part which, actually, isn’t all that surprising – just like salesmen, you have to go on A LOT of auditions to get a job.    However, that was like my 4th audition for Parks and Recreation so I think I’m wearing them down.

However, despite that, I may be on TV this week.

If you’ve been with me for a while you may remember my audition back in July for a new show called Free Agents wherein I  got the job and lost the job with dizzying speed but  did manage to score a great piece of furniture while looking for parking so I was happy.

Well, the feedback on that audition was that they really “loved” me and “wanted to find something for me” which was very nice to hear but I filed it away under “sweet  but not likely.”  When you’re trying to launch a brand new TV show I just can’t imagine that you spend a lot of time trying to figure out a place for someone like me – you’ve got much bigger fish to fry.

But I was wrong (imagine!)

The next week they had me back in for another role.  Only this time I wasn’t right for it at all and, not surprisingly, I didn’t get it.  Nor did I score a piece of furniture while parking so I figured my karma had worn out.

Then, sometime in August I got another call from my agent:

“You have another audition for Free Agents.  It’s another lawyer role.  You’re the only person they are seeing for the part.”

I was floored.  And, being me, totally stressed out!  Can you imagine if you’re the only one who audtions and you STILL don’t get it?!  How much would that suck?

But I did get it (yea!).

There was much drama between the “getting it” and the “filming it” wherein the part got bigger (yea!) and then got smaller (boo!) and then got almost totally cut (boo!) but then got restored (yea!) but reduced (boo!)

And this is why I say I “may” be on TV this week.  You just never know (someday I’ll tell you about spending a whole day filming a scene with Will Smith only to discover that my left ear was all that made it past the final cut).

So, if you’re watching Free Agents this Wednesday and a slightly nerdy lawyer tries, by phone, to force the leading lady to date him –  you can say “I know that nerdy lawyer!”

Or, if you’re watching Free Agents this Wednesday  and you notice a very, very attractive left ear in the corner of a screen you can say “I know that left ear!”

So it’s a win-win!

Fingers crossed!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

13 responses »

  1. Well good luck! We’ll try to watch 🙂 Auditioning sounds like interviewing for regular jobs :/

    Reply
  2. Congrats on your appearance! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

    Reply
  3. Jenniffer Dorsett

    Fingers crossed…check. Toes crossed…check. Eyes crossed…check. Weird look from co-workers…check!

    I’ll be watching for you tomorrow! Break a leg!

    Reply
  4. How awesome is that… fingers crossed that more than just your ear is on tomorrow’s episode. 🙂

    Reply
  5. David, sounds like you are getting closer and closer to that acting career and who knows, this might be the start of something REALLY big (not to say that your other projects are anything but super)! So, break a leg and we will be cheering for you at our house!

    Reply
  6. That’s so awesome!! We don’t have tv channels or cable but Hulu streams it so I’ll be checking in there Thursday to see Your Episode!!!I Yay!

    Reply
  7. Ohhhhh. How exciting! I just set it up to record. Can’t wait!

    Reply
  8. WOOT you!! Doin’ a happy dance for you here in Nova Scotia!

    Reply
  9. Congrats David, on your appearance! Did not realize you were an actor.
    May many more role fall into your lap!

    All the best!

    – Walter

    Reply
  10. David,
    You are the best!! Hope that this is the beginning of MANY more great acting roles in your future! Can’t wait to hear more!

    Reply
  11. I’m not sure how I stumbled on your site since I got lost reading your posts. Love your style. Hope you’ll check us out too at http://www.theroosterandthehen.com. Dudes who can do stuff like this are awesome!

    Reply
  12. I saw you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You were great!!!!!!!!!!!! Bravo!!!! Standing ovation from Anaheim!!! :):):)

    Reply
  13. It’s all about the spin, David. Try saying, “My left ear is just as talented as the entire Will Smith.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

