RSS Feed

My Future Life of Crime

I decided to try and get ahead of things and give myself a schedule.

Yesterday was Make Coaster Blanks day.

I measured, cut and sanded 335 blanks

Two things about that much sanding.

  1.  I either need to find clothes made with a tighter weave or just give in and do this job naked (what could go wrong!?).  I have sawdust in places sawdust should never be.
  2. My father gave me this awesome sander that speeds up the process.

Upside: much faster coaster production.

Downside:  it’s quite powerful and spins very, very fast and,  as my mind begins to drift due to the tedium of sanding that many coasters I occasionally slip and end up sanding myself.

Upside: I can now commit the perfect crime as I think I have successfully removed my thumbprints.

I’ve also begun work on a new little table  – another find from End Table Nirvana.

Before:

I painted the body using Rustoleum’s Painters Touch Nutmeg and the top is Heirloom White.

Well I say “begun” but what I really mean is “starting over.”

You see I wanted it to be ready for the Rose Bowl last weekend and I wanted to do a transfer image on the top that I pulled from The Graphics Fairy.

This would look cool, right?

I haven’t had much luck with image transfer in the past but I had  just read about using a Blender Pen on villabarnes and had to give it a shot.

I don’t have any pictures of my first attempt but it worked pretty well – there were some spots that didn’t quite transfer but I grabbed my trusty paint brush and filled them in and it looked pretty good.  I was totally pleased!  I let it dry and then sanded it to distress it a bit.  It looked great!  Then I waxed it and…….it wiped off the entire design.  Which left me thinking “really, I can SAND it with 180 grit sand paper and it’s all good but waxing it destroyed it?”

But I’m plucky and have decided to try again.

Anyone ever try this technique?  Got any tips?

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

4 responses »

  1. What type of wood do you use for your coasters? You should consider a planer. 🙂 Not for the rest of your fingerprint removal, but rather than sanding. I have hardly hurt myself at all with mine.

    Reply
  2. Blessed are the plucky, for they shall inherit the earth….or something like that!!! 😉

    Reply
  3. Oh Donna, the glory of having a planer! Can I come over? Although the phrase “I’ve hardly hurt myself” doesn’t fill me with great confidence in my future using a planer…..

    I’ve often contemplated them in the hardware store – they wouldn’t work for coasters but they’d work for a lot of other things. Definitely on my wish list.

    Laura I seem to remember that quote too. Not sure i”m plucky enough for full earth inheritance – I’m just hoping for New Jersey or something.

    Reply
  4. You are so creative in so many areas. I love to read your blog – it makes me laugh every time. You have been so productive…and I know how it feels to be so close to completing a project and have it fall apart in the last step. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

