RSS Feed

PROBLEM SOLVED

I’ve been reviewing my own posts of late.  My blog has  gone quickly from:

“isn’t this a cool idea and aren’t my friends wonderful!”

To:

“stupid chair won’t go back together!  Dumb house has too many outlets!!  Why do people paint innocent furniture ugly green colors!!!”

I seem to have found my “voice” but I’m tempted to re-title the blog:

Cheltenham Road – The Cranky Side of Furniture Repair

I’ll try to keep things a little more positive and a little less crabby from now on (I said “try.”  I’ve known me all my life – trust me, there’s still gonna be cranky).

So, with this new, sunnier, outlook let me first welcome to the new followers and subscribers! – thank you very much for joining!

And then I really have to say how much I appreciate all of you who comment regularly and thank you very much for the ideas about how I can circumnavigate my photography background problem.  I love (and can’t believe I didn’t think of) the simplicity of using just a sheet hung on the wall.  And the versatility of making a Design Wall as Patti suggested has got my creative juices flowing!

However, my sister Paula suggested just getting a Green Screen – like they use in the movies for special effects.  She says they are quite affordable and easy to use which she knows because she has one  (which makes her waaay cooler than I’d imagined but is also going to make me doubt every vacation photo she sends from this point forward).

I think the Green Screen idea has amazing possibilities!

“What’s that you say, Blogger X?  You’re bedside table is featured in this month’s Country Living?  Awesome!”

“Miss Mustard Seed, Luckets looks like an amazing place and I’m so glad your beautiful furniture is featured there.  Congrats!”

“Me?  Oh, the desk I’ve been working on? How nice of you to ask!

It’s at Versailles!”

“What can I say?  They called!”

See what I mean!  Problem Solved!  Thank you Paula!

OK, I’m headed back to the garage.  I have tons of furniture to finish up as, once again, the Rose Bowl has snuck up on me and I’ve got to get things finished (and I’m scrambling because Buckingham Palace rang me looking for a new side table.  Photos to follow!)

Happy Thursday Everyone!

David

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. Hi David! Just wanted to say that I will still read if there is cranky…Congrats on the Buckingham Palace gig 😉

    Reply
  2. Well now, that secretary looks completely at home in that picture. LOL

    Reply
  3. Hi David….Cranky or not, you still make my day!

    Hopefully the next Rose Bowl will have much better weather and your creations will “fly out the door”, leaving nothing to drag back home.

    I am offering to personally transport anything that goes to Buckingham Palace (unless it would look better in My “palace”)!! Love what you did for Versailles..I knew that all these years something was missing… it just needed your special touch! LOL

    Reply
  4. Not surprised Versailles called….that desk fits right in!! 😉

    Please don’t lose all the cranky!! I appreciate a good rant…it reminds me that we’re all keeping it real. And you know, it’s all about me and how I feel about it, right??!! LOL!!!

    David, you just be you…that’s why I’m here…and the ideas, and pictures, and inspiration!!! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hi David, I agree with Laura..keep the cranky! It’s honest and real! Not the usual “look how great I am” blog. I too know what it’s like to have love/hate relationships with inanimate objects.
    Nicki
    nhcreations@aol.com

    Reply
  6. I enjoy your commentary, cranky or not! Green screen or white board is a great solution to your photo dilemma! Good luck!

    Reply
  7. Hey, Buckingham Palace only wants your stuff because they’re on an austerity gig…the Queen has FINALLY realized that the masses LOVE re-dos!! And YOURS are deeLIGHTful ya know…so stay cranky and keep on KEEPIN’ on!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

